NIH Just Published Its FY2028 High-Risk Slate 18 Months Early — Pioneer at $8.2M, New Innovator at $22.7M, Transformative Down to Six Awards

September 9, 2026 · 7 min read

Granted Research Team · Editorial policy

Forecast records on Grants.gov are the least-read documents in federal science. They carry no application package, no review criteria, no page limits, and a disclaimer that everything in them is an estimate. Most researchers never see one, and the ones who do tend to skim for a deadline and close the tab.

On September 3, 2026, the NIH Common Fund posted four of them at once — and they are the most informative documents the High-Risk, High-Reward program has published all year.

The records are RFA-RM-28-001 (NIH Director's Pioneer Award, DP1), RFA-RM-28-002 (New Innovator Award, DP2), RFA-RM-28-003 (Transformative Research Award, R01), and RFA-RM-28-004 (Early Independence Award, DP5). All four are marked fiscal year 2028. All four carry an estimated post date of March 15, 2027, an estimated award date of August 30, 2028, and a project start of September 30, 2028.

The timing is the first thing worth noticing. NIH published the FY2028 slate six days before the FY2027 Pioneer Award deadline of September 9, 2026 — while the current cycle's applicants were still assembling essays. And it published it roughly eighteen months before the FY2028 applications come due. For a program whose defining feature is that it asks for a fundamentally different kind of proposal than an R01, an eighteen-month runway is not a formality. It is the whole ballgame.

The FY2028 numbers, and what they are actually measuring

Here is the slate as forecast:

AwardMechanismEst. awardsEst. program fundingAward floor/ceilingEst. due date
PioneerDP17$8,200,000$700,000 / $700,000September 9, 2027
New InnovatorDP230$22,700,000$475,000 / $475,000August 19, 2027
TransformativeR016not specifiednot specifiedSeptember 3, 2027
Early IndependenceDP510$5,700,000$350,000 / $350,000September 10, 2027

Compare that to the FY2027 slate we covered in August: roughly $44.7 million across about 54 awards, with Pioneer at $8 million for 7, New Innovator at $23 million for 30, Transformative at $8 million for 7, and Early Independence at $5.7 million for 10.

Read side by side, FY2028 is FY2027 with one slot removed. Pioneer holds at 7. New Innovator holds at 30 and $475,000. Early Independence holds at 10 and $350,000, to the dollar. Only Transformative slips from 7 to 6.

That flatness is the news. The Common Fund's FY2026 request came in at $347.4 million — down 49.3 percent, the context behind the Common Fund's open RFI closing September 19. A fund absorbing a cut that size has to decide what it protects. The FY2028 forecast is the Common Fund's answer, written in slot counts: it protects High-Risk, High-Reward essentially intact and finds the savings elsewhere.

The indirect-cost tell hiding in the forecast

There is a second signal in these records that almost nobody reads correctly, and it matters more than it looks.

Do the arithmetic on Pioneer: 7 awards × $700,000 = $4.9 million. But the forecast says $8.2 million. New Innovator: 30 × $475,000 = $14.25 million, against a forecast of $22.7 million. Early Independence: 10 × $350,000 = $3.5 million, against $5.7 million.

The ratios are 1.67, 1.59, and 1.63. Those are not rounding errors. The award floors and ceilings are quoted in direct costs per year — the way HRHR has always quoted them — while "total program funding" is quoted in total costs including facilities and administrative recovery for the first year of each cohort.

Which means the FY2028 forecast has an assumption baked into it: that awardee institutions will recover indirect costs at something close to their full negotiated rates. After a year in which a 15 percent cap was proposed, litigated, and then rescinded under H.R. 6938 with negotiated rates restored, that is a budget planner quietly voting on how the fight ends. It is not a guarantee. It is a data point about what NIH's own financial model currently assumes.

The eight-day pileup is permanent

FY2027 forced applicants through three deadlines in eight days: Transformative September 3, Pioneer September 9, Early Independence September 10. Anyone hoping FY2028 would spread them out should look again:

Same compression, same order, shifted by a year. Transformative to Early Independence is again eight days. New Innovator again sits three weeks out front, which is the structural reason it is the one award most people treat as a separate campaign rather than a fallback.

This calendar has a practical consequence that repeats every cycle and surprises people every cycle: your institution's grants office will hit the same eight-day wall you do. Sponsored programs offices routing four Common Fund submissions in eight days are not going to give the fourth one a careful read. If you intend to submit to more than one HRHR mechanism, the internal deadline that matters is not NIH's — it is whatever date your office needs the package, and that date backs up hard when four PIs arrive at once.

What an eighteen-month runway is actually for

The instinct with a forecast this early is to bookmark it. That wastes the only real advantage it confers.

HRHR applications fail for reasons that are not fixable in the eight weeks between an RFA posting and its deadline. Specifically:

Pioneer asks for a departure, and departures need evidence. The program supports investigators pursuing "new scientific directions that differ substantially from the investigator's current research." Reviewers read that literally. An applicant whose last five years of publications, preprints, and R01 aims all point the same direction is asking a study section to take the pivot on faith. Eighteen months is enough time to generate the preliminary signal, the collaboration, or the single unexpected result that makes the departure legible. Eight weeks is not.

New Innovator runs on an eligibility clock you do not control. DP2 is for early-stage investigators, and ESI status expires. With an estimated due date of August 19, 2027, anyone whose ESI window closes during calendar 2027 needs to know that now — and if the window closes before the deadline, the forecast has just told you that FY2028 is not your year, which is itself useful. Check your ESI end date against that date today, not in March.

Early Independence has the hardest eligibility geometry and an institutional bottleneck. DP5 targets investigators moving to independence directly out of a doctoral degree or clinical training, without a traditional postdoc. The FY2027 competition ran an unusually wide degree window — roughly 29 months — because the program skipped FY2026 entirely and had to absorb the gap. There is no reason to assume FY2028 keeps that width; a normalized window is the more likely outcome, and it would tighten eligibility for exactly the people the wide window let in. The award also historically carries an institutional application limit, which means the competition you have to win first is internal and happens months before NIH sees anything. Confirm the exact limit when the RFA posts on or around March 15, 2027 — then work backward from your institution's internal nomination date, not NIH's.

Transformative is now the smallest door in the building. Six awards. It is the program's team mechanism, and team assembly is the part that cannot be compressed. If you are contemplating a Transformative application for FY2028, the collaborators need to exist as collaborators — with shared data, a joint pilot, something — well before the September 3, 2027 deadline.

One more forecast worth flagging

Five days after the HRHR slate, on September 8, 2026, NIMHD posted RFA-MD-28-001, the John Lewis NIMHD Research Endowment Program (S21), also FY2028: $12 million across about 6 awards, with a $2 million floor, an estimated post date of March 25, 2027, and an estimated due date of May 25, 2027.

It is a limited competition with a genuinely narrow gate. Applicants must be institutions of higher education holding a current or former HRSA Center of Excellence or NIMHD Center of Excellence award, and must maintain an endowment at or below 50 percent of the national median for comparable biomedical research institutions. It funds research infrastructure and training capacity — recruitment, technical expertise, academic program expansion — rather than a research project.

If your institution clears both filters, the May 2027 deadline is eight months out and the eligibility documentation is the slow part.

The caveat that has to be stated

These are forecast records. Every number in them is an estimate, every date is preceded by the word "estimated," and the FY2028 appropriation they depend on does not exist yet — the government is currently operating under a continuing resolution running to December 11, 2026. Slot counts move. Post dates slip. The Transformative Award has no published dollar figure at all, which is itself a signal that the number is unsettled.

None of that makes the forecast less useful. It makes it a planning document rather than a promise — which is the only thing an eighteen-month lead time could ever be. The researchers who get value out of these records are not the ones who trust the numbers. They are the ones who read the due dates against their own eligibility clocks, their own pivot evidence, and their own institution's internal nomination calendar, and start the work that cannot be done in eight weeks.

The FY2027 cycle closes this week — Pioneer today, Early Independence tomorrow. The FY2028 cycle just opened, quietly, in a document with no application package attached.

Get AI Grants Delivered Weekly

New funding opportunities, deadline alerts, and grant writing tips every Tuesday.

Browse all NIH grants

More NIH Articles

The Cheapest Grant Application in Federal Science Closes September 19 — and It Decides What the NIH Common Fund Funds for the Next Decade

NOT-RM-26-004 asks the public for NIH-wide research challenges worth a 10-year, cross-institute program. There is no budget, no biosketch, no page limit, and no award. What there is: the five criteria every Common Fund investment has met since 2006, a new bullet about small-lab burden, and a fund whose FY 2026 request came in at $347.4 million — down 49.3 percent.

Read article

NIH Just Rebuilt COBRE's Phase Ladder. The First Applications Under the New Structure Are Due September 25 — and One Sentence Decides Which Track You Are On.

PAR-27-054 and PAR-27-055 replace COBRE's Phase 1-2-3 model with two tracks: a 15-year Development-Expansion-Sustainability path and a 10-year Expansion-Sustainability path. At $1.5 million per year in direct costs across 23 states and Puerto Rico, with new research cores prohibited in the final phase and eligibility capped at three active awards per institution, the track you claim is the most consequential choice in the application.

Read article

NIH Wants to Retire the Rulebook Biology Has Used Since 1976. The Draft Biosafety Policy Expands Oversight to Every Biohazard — and Comments Close October 19.

NOT-OD-26-112 released a draft NIH Biosafety Policy for Research Involving Biohazards on August 19, 2026. It would replace the NIH Guidelines for Research Involving Recombinant or Synthetic Nucleic Acid Molecules, extend IBC jurisdiction from engineered molecules to wild-type agents, toxins and prions, impose 24-hour incident reporting, and make the Biosafety Officer a federally defined role. Here is what actually changes and how to respond before the October 19, 2026 deadline.

Read article

Not sure which grants to apply for?

Use our free grant finder to search active federal funding opportunities by agency, eligibility, and deadline.

Find Grants

Ready to write your next grant?

Draft your proposal with Granted AI. Professional members win a grant in 12 months or get a full refund.

Backed by the Granted Guarantee