Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Boost Foundation is a private corporation based in SALT LAKE CTY, UT. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2024. The principal officer is Julie Ann Jackson. It holds total assets of $4.2M. Annual income is reported at $53K. Tax records are available from 2022 to 2024. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
This record requires an important caveat before any strategy discussion: the database's stored website (boost.org) and mission language ("development of high quality, expert reviewed, legally unencumbered, open-source libraries") belong to the well-known Boost C++ Libraries project, an unrelated open-source software initiative. Nothing on boost.org references Salt Lake City, Utah, a credit union, or scholarship grantmaking, and its 2026 news feed covers exclusively C++ library releases (container updates, URL-parsing tools, CUDA support). This appears to be a name-collision data error in enrichment. The actual filer behind EIN 88-0533753 is a small Salt Lake City private foundation with three named board members — Julie Ann Jackson, Richard N Beckstrand, and Carol B Beckstrand — filing from 6322 S 3000 E Ste 160, Salt Lake City, UT 84121.
Based on IRS Form 990-PF data (via the third-party aggregator Grantable, cross-checked against the platform's own financial history), this foundation's entire identifiable grant history is concentrated on a single recipient: B and A Employees Credit Union, also of Salt Lake City. Both grants captured in the most recent filing year went to that one organization — $300,000 for a technology/AI-scholarship program and $170,000 for general education programs. There is no public grants page, no application form, no published deadline, and no listed program officer beyond the c/o contact name on the IRS filing.
For grant seekers, the practical read is: this is very likely a closely-held, relationship-based giving vehicle rather than a competitive open-call foundation, despite the "accepting applications" flag in aggregator data. Organizations without a pre-existing tie to the credit union or the named board members should treat this as a low-probability, low-yield target. The one actionable path is direct, personalized outreach to the filing address to ask whether any portion of giving is open to outside applicants — cold LOI submissions modeled on typical open foundations are unlikely to be read the same way here. Do not pitch open-source software, developer tooling, or C++ community proposals; that language belongs to the unrelated Boost C++ Libraries entity and would signal you researched the wrong organization.
Financial history (platform database, IRS 990-PF filings): FY2023 — total assets $4,579,166; grants paid $300,000; total giving $380,568; total revenue was negative, -$594,102, indicating investment losses that year; officer compensation, net investment income, and contributions received all reported as $0. FY2024 — total assets fell 9.1% year-over-year to $4,162,629; total revenue recovered to a modest $53,463 (consistent with net investment income rebounding after the prior year's losses); grants_paid was not separately populated in this filing snapshot.
A third-party aggregation of the same underlying 990-PF data (Grantable) reports a somewhat higher and more recent giving figure: roughly $470,000 distributed across exactly 2 grants in its most recent captured year, up 56.7% year-over-year, for an average grant size near $235,000. Both of those grants went to the same recipient, B and A Employees Credit Union (Salt Lake City, UT): $300,000 tagged for "technology education" — which aligns with the IRS program-service line item captured in this database ("provide scholarships for research and development of artificial intelligence technology," $300,000 in expenses) — and $170,000 for "education programs." Grantable's longer trend line shows giving climbing from roughly $63,000 (2022) to $380,000 (2023) to ~$470,000 (2024), a rapid scale-up.
With only two identifiable grants and 100% recipient concentration, standard median/range statistics that apply to diversified funders are not meaningful here — there is effectively one funding relationship, not a portfolio. Geographic focus is 100% Utah in every year captured. No breakdown by program area exists beyond the single AI/technology-scholarship program-service description on file; there is no evidence of a broader grants program with multiple simultaneous recipients, cohorts, or competitive cycles.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Boost Foundation (this entity) | $4.16M | ~$380K-$470K (2023-24, 1 recipient) | Science & Technology (AI/tech scholarships via credit union partner) | Not disclosed / appears closed |
| Korea-US Science Cooperation Center (VA) | $4.24M | Not disclosed | Science & Technology | Not disclosed |
| Brokaw Family Foundation (NH) | $4.79M | Not disclosed | Science & Technology | Not disclosed |
| Endicott-Reardon Family Museum (NJ) | $3.91M | Not disclosed | Science & Technology | Not disclosed |
| Ava Lane Meyer Foundation (VT) | $3.89M | Not disclosed | Science & Technology | Not disclosed |
| Jannson Foundation (CA) | $3.73M | Not disclosed | Science & Technology | Not disclosed |
This foundation sits squarely in the middle of its asset-matched Science & Technology peer set ($3.73M-$4.79M), none of which have giving data populated in the platform's records either — a common pattern among small, closely-held private foundations that file minimal 990-PF detail and maintain no public grants infrastructure. What distinguishes this foundation from the peer set is that independent 990 aggregation confirms an actual, if narrow, giving pattern (two grants to one Utah credit union), whereas the peers show no corroborating grant activity in available sources. Of the five peers, only Brokaw Family Foundation has a listed working website (brokaw.org); the others, like this foundation's true identity, have no public-facing presence, reinforcing that this asset tier of Science & Technology funder typically operates as a private family/closely-held vehicle rather than a public grants program.
No news, leadership changes, or program announcements specific to this grantmaking entity (EIN 88-0533753, Salt Lake City, UT) were found in general web search as of September 2026. The most recent verifiable data point is the FY2024 IRS filing reflected in the platform database (total assets $4,162,629, down from $4,579,166 in FY2023) and a third-party aggregator's read of the same filings showing two grants totaling ~$470,000 to B and A Employees Credit Union.
It bears repeating that the boost.org website stored against this record belongs to the unrelated Boost C++ Libraries project, whose actual 2026 news feed — "Hub is here" (July 2, 2026, on container library updates for Boost 1.92), "Manipulating URLs with Boost URL" (May 14, 2026), "MrDocs Bootstrap" (April 24, 2026), "Speed and Safety" (April 8, 2026, on CUDA support additions), and "Powering Cognitive Communications Engine for NASA with Boost" (March 27, 2026) — should not be attributed to this foundation's grantmaking activity. Treating those as this funder's "recent activity" would be a factual error.
Given the absence of any dedicated public communications channel for the actual foundation, the most recent "known major activity" a grant seeker can rely on is the FY2023-2024 filing pair: a jump in total giving (from $380,568 to an aggregator-reported ~$470,000) concentrated in the same single credit-union recipient across both years, alongside a 9.1% decline in total assets — consistent with a foundation actively spending down reserves on an established relationship rather than one building out a new open grants program.
There is no evidence of a public application process for this foundation as of September 2026 — no LOI form, portal, published deadline, or program guidelines were found anywhere in web research or the platform's own records (application_form_url, application_process, and application_deadline are all blank in the database). This is a materially different situation from most Science & Technology funders in this dataset, and applicants should calibrate effort accordingly.
What is known: both grants identifiable in public 990-PF data went to a single recipient, B and A Employees Credit Union of Salt Lake City — one for $300,000 tagged "technology education" (matching the IRS program description of AI-technology scholarships) and one for $170,000 for general education programs. This strongly suggests an existing, likely long-standing relationship between the foundation's three named board members (Julie Ann Jackson, Richard N Beckstrand, Carol B Beckstrand) and the credit union, rather than a competitive review process open to unaffiliated nonprofits.
Concrete recommendations: (1) Do not treat this as a standard cold-outreach target — the realistic odds of an unsolicited proposal being funded appear low given 100% recipient concentration in every year of giving captured. (2) If pursuing anyway, the only address on file is the filing address (6322 S 3000 E Ste 160, Salt Lake City, UT 84121, c/o Julie Ann Jackson) — a direct, brief letter asking whether the foundation accepts outside applications is more appropriate than a full proposal. (3) If any dialogue opens, frame your ask around the demonstrated funding pattern — technology or AI-related scholarships and education programming, in the $170,000-$300,000 range — rather than a generic mission statement. (4) The single most common and costly mistake would be researching and pitching the wrong organization: proposals referencing open-source software, C++ development, or the Boost Software License belong to the unrelated Boost C++ Libraries Foundation, not this Utah private foundation. (5) Re-pull the current Form 990-PF before any outreach (via ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer or a paid aggregator) to confirm the board and giving pattern haven't changed since the FY2024 filing reflected here.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Provide scholarships for research and development of artificial intelligence technology
Expenses: $300K
Financial history (platform database, IRS 990-PF filings): FY2023 — total assets $4,579,166; grants paid $300,000; total giving $380,568; total revenue was negative, -$594,102, indicating investment losses that year; officer compensation, net investment income, and contributions received all reported as $0. FY2024 — total assets fell 9.1% year-over-year to $4,162,629; total revenue recovered to a modest $53,463 (consistent with net investment income rebounding after the prior year's losses); gra.
This record requires an important caveat before any strategy discussion: the database's stored website (boost.org) and mission language ("development of high quality, expert reviewed, legally unencumbered, open-source libraries") belong to the well-known Boost C++ Libraries project, an unrelated open-source software initiative. Nothing on boost.org references Salt Lake City, Utah, a credit union, or scholarship grantmaking, and its 2026 news feed covers exclusively C++ library releases (containe.
Boost Foundation is headquartered in SALT LAKE CTY, UT.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
Officer and trustee information is not yet available for this foundation. This data is typically reported in Part VIII of the 990-PF filing.
Total Giving
N/A
Total Assets
$4.2M
Fair Market Value
N/A
Net Worth
$4.2M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
N/A
Net Investment Income
N/A
Distribution Amount
N/A
No individual grant records are available. Visit the foundation's 990-PF filings below for detailed grantee information.