Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust is a private trust based in PARMA, ID. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 1990. The principal officer is Cari Magette. It holds total assets of $5.1M. Annual income is reported at $1.1M. The foundation is governed by 5 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2021 to 2024. Grantmaking is concentrated in Idaho. According to available records, Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust has made 17 grants totaling $1.2M, with a median grant of $1K. The foundation has distributed between $256K and $609K annually from 2022 to 2024. Grantmaking activity was highest in 2023 with $609K distributed across 10 grants. Individual grants have ranged from $252 to $288K, with an average award of $68K. The foundation has supported 5 unique organizations. Grant recipients are concentrated in Idaho. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
The Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust is a single-purpose, hyper-local scholarship fund, not a general-purpose grantmaker — nearly all of its giving (98% of its $1.16M in tracked grantee payments) goes to individual student scholarships, with a small residual bucket ($37,500 to Cossa, plus token gifts of $2,000-$4,000 to the Parma Cemetery District, Silver City Lodge, and Parma High School itself) for local charitable contributions. Organizations, not just students, can and do receive modest support, but only within Parma, Idaho and only in amounts under $10,000 — this is not a foundation that funds programs, capacity-building, or multi-year organizational grants. Founded from the estate of Bruce Mitchell, a 1939 University of Idaho engineering graduate and Idaho Power executive who wanted to pay forward the loan that got him through college, the trust's DNA is personal and place-based: preference goes explicitly to Parma High School graduates, with any Canyon County resident eligible as a secondary pool. There is no competitive open RFP process for organizations — the trust is run by five volunteer trustees (current names include Margaret Johnson, Anita Kiser, Duane Kido, Faere Watson, and Todd Wong, with earlier filings showing Pat Gotsch and Tom Sells) and a single paid administrator (contact listed as Cari Magette on IRS filings, Leah Padilla per the application instructions) handling correspondence. For individual scholarship applicants, the relationship progression is: written application with essay → in-person board interview → award decision → annual renewal contingent on transcripts and GPA, repeated for up to eight semesters. First-time applicants — student or organization — should understand this is a legacy-driven, relationship-based fund tightly bound to one small Idaho community; it is not a fit for national programs, research grants, or any organization without a direct Parma/Canyon County nexus. Given its roughly $5.0-5.4M asset base and the mandatory 5% private-foundation payout, expect total annual capacity to remain capped near $300K-$350K regardless of application volume, so the effective acceptance rate for new scholarship cohorts is bounded by how many prior-year recipients are still drawing renewals.
Total giving has held remarkably steady across the trust's history: $259,510 (FY2011) → $261,293 (FY2012) → $263,715 (FY2013) → $295,629 (FY2014) → $288,767 (FY2015) → $329,240 (FY2019) → $331,860 (FY2020) → $301,449 (FY2021) → $350,164 (FY2022) → $340,811 (FY2023), a gentle upward drift driven by investment returns rather than new contributions (contributions received are near-zero most years — $0-$3,050 — except a one-time $158,608 gift in FY2014). Grants paid (distinct from total giving, which includes administrative costs) ran $221,512 to $304,502 over the same window, with FY2023 at $295,989. Assets have hovered in a tight band, from $4.53M (FY2015) to $5.35M (FY2019) and $4.97M (FY2023) — a mature, fully-funded corpus with no growth campaign underway. On the grantee side, the DB's tracked sample of 17 payments totaling $1,160,743 (average $68,279) is dominated by four bulk "See Attached Schedule" scholarship disbursements totaling $1,116,739 — this is the aggregated cohort of ~125 concurrent student scholarships bundled into single 990 line items, not four grants of that size. The foundation's own stated typical-grant-size metadata shows a median of $13,000 and a range of $500 to $257,734 (the top end being the annual scholarship-program total, the low end an individual small-org gift). Individual student awards run roughly $1,500-$2,000 per semester, compounding as students progress and maintain their 3.0 GPA, with one profiled recipient citing a cumulative $12,000 award. Non-scholarship local giving is small and stable: Cossa received $37,500 across 3 grants (~$12,500 each), while Parma Cemetery District ($4,000/4 grants), Silver City Lodge ($2,000/4 grants), and Parma High School ($504/2 grants) round out the modest community-contribution bucket. Geographically, 100% of tracked grantee dollars stay in Idaho (ID: 17 of 17 payments) — there is no multi-state or national distribution to speak of.
No matched peer-foundation records were returned in the data bundle for this profile, so the comparison below draws on publicly known Idaho/Canyon County funders operating in the same scholarship and community-giving space, sized qualitatively rather than from verified DB financials.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust | ~$5.0M | ~$300K-$350K | Parma HS/Canyon Co. scholarships | Open (essay + board interview) |
| Idaho Community Foundation — Scholarship Funds | $200M+ statewide pooled assets | Varies by fund; statewide totals in the millions | Broad, multi-county scholarships and field-of-interest grants | Open (single ICF portal, many sub-funds) |
| Gladys E. Langroise Advised Fund (ICF) | Not disclosed | ~$550K cumulative to Ada/Canyon Co. orgs | General community organizations, Ada/Canyon counties | Advised/by application via ICF |
| M.H. King Foundation (now ICF-advised fund) | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Community grants, Ada/Canyon counties | Advised — trustees recommend distributions |
| Typical single-high-school memorial scholarship trust (generic Idaho comparison class) | $1M-$10M | $30K-$400K | Single-town scholarships only | Open to local grads, often GPA/essay-gated |
Bruce Mitchell sits at the small end of the private-foundation spectrum but is unusually durable and singularly focused: unlike the Idaho Community Foundation's sprawling multi-fund, multi-county scholarship apparatus, Mitchell has run one consistent program for 35 years with no expansion beyond Parma/Canyon County. Its $300K-$350K annual payout is comparable to a single mid-sized ICF fund, but 100% of it flows to one high school's graduating pipeline rather than being spread competitively across the region, which means the effective per-student generosity (up to $2,000/semester, renewable for 8 semesters) is high relative to its asset base.
There is no evidence of leadership turnover, mission changes, or major new program announcements in the last two years — this is a quiet, consistent operator. The most concrete recent data point is the trust's most recent Form 990-PF filing, filed September 24, 2025 (the prior return was filed September 27, 2024), showing continued FY2023 giving of $340,811 against $4.97M in assets, in line with the decade-long trend. Idaho Education News' feature profile (the most substantive third-party coverage found) puts the cumulative program at $3.7 million distributed to 620 Parma High graduates since 1991, with roughly 125 students currently drawing scholarships and about 40 new freshmen entering annually — figures that describe a mature, steady-state program rather than one in a growth or contraction phase. The same reporting notes the foundation has separately funneled more than $750,000 in technology grants directly to Parma School District since 1994, a program strand that runs alongside (not through) the individual scholarship pipeline and is worth flagging to district administrators as a distinct ask. Board composition has shown modest turnover across recent IRS filings — trustees Margaret Johnson, Anita Kiser, Duane Kido, Faere Watson, and Todd Wong appear on the most recent filings, while earlier lists also include Pat Gotsch and Tom Sells — consistent with normal volunteer-board rotation rather than any governance disruption. No press coverage, lawsuits, or funding controversies turned up in this research pass; the trust maintains a low public profile befitting its single-community, single-purpose mandate.
This is one of the more procedurally specific small foundations in the dataset, so applicants should follow its documented process closely rather than sending a generic LOI. First, timing: the stated application deadline is April 15 for the following fall school year — this is a hard annual cutoff tied to the academic calendar, not a rolling window, so late submissions effectively wait a full year. Second, the process is two-stage: a written application including an essay on career/education goals, followed by an in-person interview with the foundation's volunteer board — treat the essay as the gate to the interview, and prepare for the interview as a real evaluative step, not a formality (board member Pat Gotsch has publicly described the role as "giving away money," suggesting an engaged, personally invested board rather than a rubber-stamp panel). Third, eligibility nuance matters: preference runs explicitly to Parma High School graduates, but the foundation's own restriction language also opens the door to any Canyon County resident aged 16-30, and Parma High's counseling office lists a separate "CTE/Associates" track alongside the standard scholarship — technical/associate-degree-bound students should apply under that track, not the general one, to be evaluated against the right rubric. Fourth, the most common mistake for renewal-year applicants is treating the award as automatic; the foundation requires current transcripts and continuous 3.0 GPA maintenance every year across all eight eligible semesters, and awards are explicitly described as building based on continued criteria compliance rather than being fixed. Fifth, for the small parallel bucket of community/organizational giving (evidenced by the Cossa, Parma Cemetery District, Silver City Lodge, and Parma High School grants), there is no public open RFP — these appear to be relationship-driven, board-initiated gifts to established local institutions, so an unsolicited application from an organization outside Parma is unlikely to gain traction. Contact for all inquiries is listed as Leah Padilla at the address on file (30358 Boulder Rd, Parma, ID) or by phone at (208) 880-6500; Parma High School's counseling office, (208) 779-4069, can also route current students to the correct application packet.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Smallest Grant
$500
Median Grant
$13K
Average Grant
$71K
Largest Grant
$258K
Based on 4 grants from the most recent 990-PF filing.
Scholarships
Expenses: $258K
Charitable contributions
Expenses: $27K
Total giving has held remarkably steady across the trust's history: $259,510 (FY2011) → $261,293 (FY2012) → $263,715 (FY2013) → $295,629 (FY2014) → $288,767 (FY2015) → $329,240 (FY2019) → $331,860 (FY2020) → $301,449 (FY2021) → $350,164 (FY2022) → $340,811 (FY2023), a gentle upward drift driven by investment returns rather than new contributions (contributions received are near-zero most years — $0-$3,050 — except a one-time $158,608 gift in FY2014). Grants paid (distinct from total giving, whic.
Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust has distributed a total of $1.2M across 17 grants. The median grant size is $1K, with an average of $68K. Individual grants have ranged from $252 to $288K.
The Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust is a single-purpose, hyper-local scholarship fund, not a general-purpose grantmaker — nearly all of its giving (98% of its $1.16M in tracked grantee payments) goes to individual student scholarships, with a small residual bucket ($37,500 to Cossa, plus token gifts of $2,000-$4,000 to the Parma Cemetery District, Silver City Lodge, and Parma High School itself) for local charitable contributions. Organizations, not just students, can and do receive modest suppo.
Bruce Mitchell Foundation Trust is headquartered in PARMA, ID.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Margaret Johnson | TRUSTEE | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Anita Kiser | TRUSTEE | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Duane Kido | TRUSTEE | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Faere Watson | TRUSTEE | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Todd Wong | TRUSTEE | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
$341K
Total Assets
$5M
Fair Market Value
$6.3M
Net Worth
$5M
Grants Paid
$296K
Contributions
$15K
Net Investment Income
$210K
Distribution Amount
$238K
Total: $4.3M
Total Grants
17
Total Giving
$1.2M
Average Grant
$68K
Median Grant
$1K
Unique Recipients
5
Most Common Grant
$1K
of 2024 grantees were first-time recipients
| Recipient | Location | Amount | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| See Attached ScheduleSCHOLARSHIPS | See Attached Schedule, ID | $287K | 2024 |
| CossaCHARITABLE CONTRIBUTION | Wilder, ID | $8K | 2024 |
| Parma Cemetery DistrictCHARITABLE CONTIRUBTION | Parma, ID | $1K | 2024 |
| Silver City LodgeCHARITABLE CONTRIBUTION | Homedale, ID | $500 | 2024 |
| Parma High SchoolCHARITABLE CONTRIBUTION | Parma, ID | $252 | 2023 |