Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Dontes Den Foundation Inc. is a private corporation based in MYAKKA CITY, FL. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2011. The principal officer is Donald And Marsha Panuce. It holds total assets of $4.7M. Annual income is reported at $663K. Total assets have grown from $59K in 2008 to $5.3M in 2023. The foundation is governed by 4 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2015 to 2023. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
Grant seekers need to recalibrate expectations before approaching Dontes Den Foundation Inc.: this is an operating foundation, not a re-granting philanthropy. IRS Form 990-PF data across all ten filed years (2011-2023) show `grants_paid: 0` in every period — every dollar of the foundation's $299K-$944K in annual giving funds its own 50-acre Myakka City, FL sanctuary (adoption, boarding, lifetime care for unadoptable dogs, the Semper Paw military-deployment boarding program, and the on-site Dogevity Animal Hospital), not third-party nonprofits. The foundation's own website confirms this: there is no LOI form, RFP page, grants portal, or application-instructions text anywhere on dontesden.org, and the DB record's `application_instructions` field is explicitly `__none__`. Founder Marsha Panuce (President) and a small four-person volunteer-compensated board (Kenneth J. Long as Treasurer/CFO, Jeffrey S. Benninghoff and Greg Greiner as Directors, with a Secretary role that has rotated from John F. Garrow to Janet Walter) run it as a hands-on, single-site operation — officer compensation is $0 across every filed year, underscoring the founder-led, low-overhead model. For organizations working in companion-animal welfare in the Sarasota/Manatee County corridor, the realistic engagement paths are: (1) in-kind or cause-marketing partnership, following the model of existing partners DOGPerfect, Florida Studio Theatre, and THE NEW BARKER; (2) co-hosting or cross-promoting at their annual TOP DOG fundraiser; (3) veterinary or professional-services collaboration tied to the Dogevity clinic; or (4) direct philanthropic solicitation of the foundation as a *donor prospect* rather than a grant applicant, given its $4.65M asset base and history of accepting outside contributions ($669K in FY2023, spiking to $1.84M in FY2022). Any grant-seeking nonprofit that reaches this listing through a discovery search should treat it as a research dead-end for a cash award and pivot toward the partnership or fundraising-collaboration track instead.
Because Dontes Den Foundation reports zero dollars in `grants_paid` on every 990-PF from 2011 through 2023, there is no external grant-size data to analyze — the 'giving' figures below represent the foundation's own program spending on its sanctuary operations, not third-party awards. Total giving (program spend) has grown steadily: $39,195 (2011) to $94,075 (2013) to $299,126 (2015) to $601,687 (2019) to a peak of $944,048 (2023) — a roughly 24x increase over 12 years, tracking the buildout of the physical facility. Total assets grew even faster, from $151,014 (2011) to $4.27M (2020) to $5.35M (2023), a ~35x increase, reflecting major capital contributions in the early buildout years (contributions hit $2.1M in 2014 alone). Revenue is lumpy and contribution-driven rather than investment-driven: net investment income has stayed trivial ($0-$71K/year against a multi-million-dollar asset base), while contributions received swing widely — $70,708 (2021) versus $1.84M (2022) versus $669,637 (2023) — consistent with episodic major-gift or capital-campaign activity rather than a steady endowment payout. The most recent IRS Business Master File snapshot (used for the DB's `asset_amount`) shows $4,653,294 in assets and $662,872 in reportable income, slightly below the FY2023 990-PF figures, likely reflecting a more recent filing period or valuation date. One programmatic line item on file shows $397,895 in program-service expenses against the stated mission of constructing/operating the care facility — consistent with sanctuary operating costs (veterinary care, boarding, staff, facility upkeep) rather than any sub-grant activity. There is no geographic or program-area breakdown to report beyond the single Animals/D99 (Animal Services, Not Elsewhere Classified) NTEE classification and the Myakka City, FL site.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dontes Den Foundation Inc. | $4.65M (BMF) / $5.35M (FY23) | $944,048 (FY23, self-operated) | Animals — dog sanctuary/lifetime care | Not accepted (no grants program) |
| Justice For Animals Fund (OH) | $4.82M | Not disclosed | Animals | Unknown |
| Ivar And Ruth Anderson Anti Cruelty Trust (IL) | $4.78M | Not disclosed | Animals | Unknown |
| Rolling Hills Refuge Wildlife Conservation Center Inc. (KS) | $4.74M | Not disclosed | Animals | Unknown |
| Hanson Family Foundation For The Well-Being Of Gods Creatures (SD) | $4.67M | Not disclosed | Animals | Unknown |
| Hamilton Rare Breeds Foundation Inc. (CT) | $4.58M | Not disclosed | Animals | Unknown |
Dontes Den sits squarely in the middle of this Animals-focused asset-size peer cluster ($4.58M-$4.82M) — all six organizations are small, single-focus private foundations with assets in a tight $4.5M-$4.8M band, suggesting the platform's peer-matching is grouping by asset size within the Animals NTEE category rather than by grantmaking behavior. The DB does not carry annual-giving or application-process data for the five peers, so a direct behavioral comparison isn't possible from this bundle alone; however, Dontes Den's confirmed $0-external-grants history is a meaningful structural difference grant seekers should verify before assuming any of these five peers is any more (or less) approachable — several small Animals foundations of this size are, like Dontes Den, operating sanctuaries or conservation centers rather than grantmakers, and each should be checked individually before an application is drafted.
The most substantive recent public activity is a July 2025 interview with founder Marsha Panuce on WMNF 88.5 FM's 'Talking Animals' program, discussing the sanctuary's lifetime-care model, and the organization's 'TOP DOG 2025' fundraising event. Beyond that, no 2025-2026 press releases, leadership transitions, or new-program announcements turned up in web search — this is consistent with the organization's profile as a small, founder-led operating charity that relies on local media features and direct donor relationships rather than a press/communications operation. The most recent detailed news coverage on record is a February 2024 MySuncoast/WWSB feature describing the 50-acre campus's capacity and resident-dog population, and a September 2023 Your Observer profile detailing the lifetime-care and Semper Paw military-boarding programs. On the governance side, the board has been stable in composition (Panuce as President, Long as Treasurer/CFO, Benninghoff and Greiner as Directors) with one Secretary-role change from John F. Garrow to Janet Walter reflected across the filed-year snapshots in this bundle; officer compensation has remained $0 in every year on record. No 2025 or 2026 Form 990-PF is yet reflected in this dataset (most recent full-year financial detail is FY2023, filed in 2024), so any large recent gifts or capital-campaign activity beyond the July 2025 radio interview and the BMF asset update (last verified 2026-08-15) are not yet visible in public filings.
There is effectively no traditional 'application' path to Dontes Den Foundation, and grant writers should not spend cycles drafting an LOI or proposal for this listing. The IRS record confirms zero external grants paid in every year 2011-2023, the foundation's own site has no grants page, RFP, or portal, and the DB's `application_instructions` field is explicitly set to `__none__` — all consistent signals that this is a self-operating dog sanctuary, not a funder. For organizations that still want to build a relationship — for example, a veterinary nonprofit, a military-family support organization aligned with the Semper Paw program, or another Sarasota/Manatee-area animal-welfare group — the productive moves are: (1) reach out by phone (941-219-3730) or email (office@dontesden.org) to propose an in-kind partnership, cross-promotion, or shared event, mirroring existing partners DOGPerfect, Florida Studio Theatre, and THE NEW BARKER, rather than requesting funding; (2) approach around the annual TOP DOG fundraiser as a co-sponsorship or vendor opportunity rather than a grant cycle; (3) if seeking veterinary collaboration, propose it through the Dogevity Animal Hospital service line specifically, since that is the foundation's stated area of clinical/professional partnership; (4) if the goal is philanthropic support, consider approaching Dontes Den as a prospective *donor* to your own organization given its $4.65M asset base and history of receiving outside contributions, rather than as a source of grant funding — donor cultivation (not grant-seeking) is the only realistic financial ask this record supports; (5) always confirm current status directly by phone before any outreach, since 501(c)(3) operating foundations occasionally start small discretionary giving programs that would not yet be reflected in filings as old as FY2023. The single biggest mistake would be treating this listing like a conventional funder — submitting an unsolicited grant proposal here will not reach a review process because none exists.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
To construct and operate a facility aimed at offering humane care of sick, abused, injured and homeless animals, who would oherwise not receive proper medical attention.
Expenses: $398K
Because Dontes Den Foundation reports zero dollars in `grants_paid` on every 990-PF from 2011 through 2023, there is no external grant-size data to analyze — the 'giving' figures below represent the foundation's own program spending on its sanctuary operations, not third-party awards. Total giving (program spend) has grown steadily: $39,195 (2011) to $94,075 (2013) to $299,126 (2015) to $601,687 (2019) to a peak of $944,048 (2023) — a roughly 24x increase over 12 years, tracking the buildout of .
Grant seekers need to recalibrate expectations before approaching Dontes Den Foundation Inc.: this is an operating foundation, not a re-granting philanthropy. IRS Form 990-PF data across all ten filed years (2011-2023) show `grants_paid: 0` in every period — every dollar of the foundation's $299K-$944K in annual giving funds its own 50-acre Myakka City, FL sanctuary (adoption, boarding, lifetime care for unadoptable dogs, the Semper Paw military-deployment boarding program, and the on-site Dogev.
Dontes Den Foundation Inc. is headquartered in MYAKKA CITY, FL.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marsha R Panuce | DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Jeffrey S Benninghoff | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Greg Greiner | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Kenneth J Long | DIRECTOR, TREASURER, CFO | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
$944K
Total Assets
$5.3M
Fair Market Value
$5.3M
Net Worth
$5.3M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
$670K
Net Investment Income
$71K
Distribution Amount
N/A
No individual grant records are available. Visit the foundation's 990-PF filings below for detailed grantee information.