Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Haraldson Foundation is a private corporation based in AUSTIN, TX. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 1995. The principal officer is Dale A Dossey. It holds total assets of $7.4M. Annual income is reported at $332K. Total assets have grown from $5.9M in 2011 to $7.4M in 2022. The foundation is governed by 3 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2016 to 2023. Grantmaking is concentrated in Texas. According to available records, Haraldson Foundation has made 22 grants totaling $845K, with a median grant of $10K. Annual giving has grown from $173K in 2020 to $225K in 2023. Grantmaking activity was highest in 2022 with $229K distributed across 6 grants. Individual grants have ranged from $3K to $186K, with an average award of $38K. The foundation has supported 8 unique organizations. Grant recipients are concentrated in Texas. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
The Haraldson Foundation is a small, single-purpose family scholarship fund, not a general grantmaker — grant seekers who are not individual UT Austin-bound students have essentially no path to funding here. Founded in 1992 by Beulah Mae Wunderlich Haraldson, a self-made Texas real-estate investor, the foundation exists to keep talented Texas high schoolers in-state by funding their University of Texas at Austin education, with three directors (Betty Jean Cook, Karen Sue Emami, Jim P Dossey) overseeing roughly $7.4M in assets. There is no competitive proposal process for organizations: 82% of tracked giving ($696,351 of $845,476 across 22 recorded grants) has gone to a single institutional recipient, the University of Texas at Austin, funding a cohort of individual $48,000 ($6,000/semester) undergraduate scholarships each year. The remaining giving is scattered in much smaller amounts ($9,125-$35,000 total each) to UT Dallas, UT Tyler, UT Rio Grande Valley, the University of Houston, and Texas Christian University, plus incidental gifts routed through Blue Bell Creameries' employee-giving program — none of which appear to be open, ongoing grant lines. For the rare institutional or program applicant, the realistic opening is not a proposal but a relationship: because selection runs through UT Austin's own admissions and financial-aid data-sharing process, any effective 'first-time applicant' pathway is really student-level, not organization-level. Nonprofits or university offices seeking a relationship should approach the foundation through student-services or scholarship-office channels at UT campuses rather than through a standard LOI-to-full-proposal cycle, since no such cycle exists in the public record. The foundation's small, all-volunteer-adjacent governance ($12,000 total annual officer compensation split among directors) signals limited capacity to evaluate new, unsolicited proposals outside its core UT Austin pipeline.
Total giving has grown steadily: $211,066 (FY2018) to $244,899 (FY2019) to $346,032 (FY2020) to $358,558 (FY2021) to $349,096 (FY2022), a 65% increase over five years, while grants paid rose from $140,000 to $225,000 over the same window (+61%). Assets grew in parallel from $6.31M (2018) to $7.40M (2022), aided by strong investment years — net investment income spiked to $550,015 in 2021 and $459,309 in 2018, versus a leaner $49,963 in 2022. Across the 22 grants captured in the grantee database (cumulative, $845,476 total, average $38,431 per grant), giving is heavily concentrated: University of Texas at Austin alone received 4 grants totaling $696,351 (82% of tracked dollars), consistent with funding roughly 8+ new $48,000 scholarships annually. Secondary recipients each received far smaller totals — University of Houston Rio Grande Valley ($35,000 across 3 grants), UT Dallas ($25,000/3 grants), Texas Christian University ($25,000/3 grants), UT Tyler ($25,000/3 grants), University of Houston ($15,000/2 grants), and a University of Houston Rio Grande single grant of $15,000. A small recurring $9,125 across 3 grants flows through Blue Bell Creameries' 'various qualified charities' employee-giving mechanism, likely an unrelated pass-through rather than foundation-directed discretionary giving. On the most recent Form 990-PF, the foundation's own reported typical-grant-size data shows a median of $10,000 but an average of $38,173 and a wide range ($2,684-$186,351) across just 6 distinct grant line items — reflecting that most 990 lines bundle multiple individual scholarship payments into single reported amounts. Geographic focus is 100% Texas, and by program area the foundation is effectively single-category: Education (specifically post-secondary scholarships), with no health, arts, or human-services giving in the record.
The foundation sits in a cluster of similarly sized education-focused private foundations, all in the $7.3M-$7.5M asset range but headquartered in different states:
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Haraldson Foundation (TX) | $7.40M | ~$349K (FY2022) | Education (UT Austin scholarships) | Invited/Preselected (via UT Austin admissions) |
| Risk Management Association Foundation (IL) | $7.40M | Not disclosed | Education | Unknown |
| Otefe Foundation Inc. (CA) | $7.40M | Not disclosed | Education | Unknown |
| Uline Children Of Employees Scholarship Foundation (GA) | $7.43M | Not disclosed | Education | Likely employee-restricted |
| Vandeventer Foundation (FL) | $7.47M | Not disclosed | Education | Unknown |
| Joanne Olivard Foundation (TX) | $7.32M | Not disclosed | Education | Unknown |
Haraldson's asset base is essentially identical to all five peers, placing it squarely in a common tier of small, single-family education foundations rather than an outlier. What differentiates Haraldson is transparency and process clarity: it publishes a functioning website with an explicit (if narrow) application mechanism, whereas most listed peers — including the employee-restricted Uline Children Of Employees fund — show no public website or documented process at all. Grant seekers evaluating this peer set should expect uniformly restrictive, relationship- or institution-based access rather than open competitive RFPs; Haraldson is comparatively the most transparent of the group about how its money actually moves.
Public, dated news specific to the Haraldson Foundation is sparse. The most concrete recent signal from the foundation's own website is an interview-cycle notice referencing April 13, 2024 online interviews with notifications sent in early March — the site does not display a refreshed cycle date for 2025 or 2026 at the time of this research, which may indicate infrequent website maintenance rather than program inactivity, since the underlying UT Austin scholarship pipeline (8+ awards/year) is a long-running, presumably continuing commitment. No leadership changes, new program announcements, or notable one-off large grants surfaced in search results beyond the standing three-director governance structure (Betty Jean Cook, Karen Sue Emami, Jim P Dossey) and administrator Elizabeth Mills (ebmills@haraldsonfoundation.org). Financially, the most recent complete fiscal year on record is FY2022 (assets $7.40M, total giving $349,096, grants paid $225,000), with the foundation's IRS filing data last refreshed by third-party trackers in May 2026 — implying a FY2023 or FY2024 990-PF may exist but had not propagated into public aggregators as of this research. In short: the core scholarship program appears stable and ongoing, but there is no evidence of expansion, contraction, or strategic pivot to report for 2025-2026.
There is no standalone Haraldson Foundation scholarship application to fill out — the single most important tactical fact for prospective applicants is that eligibility flows entirely through the University of Texas at Austin's own admissions and financial-aid process. Applicants must apply to and be accepted by UT Austin, and during that process check the box authorizing UT Austin to share their application data with outside scholarship programs; failing to check that box removes any chance of consideration, regardless of merit. Because selection happens off a shared applicant pool rather than a dedicated Haraldson form, there is no separate deadline to track beyond UT Austin's own admissions timeline — but applicants should watch for foundation-side interview notifications arriving by email in early March, with interviews (roughly 15 minutes, held online in recent cycles) following in mid-April. The selection board is explicitly looking for four things, per the foundation's own FAQ: demonstrated commitment to education, community involvement with evidence of positive impact, a genuine intent to build a future in Texas via a UT Austin education, and financial need that would otherwise limit access to UT Austin. Required supporting materials — a career-aspirations statement, an 'impact story,' two letters of recommendation, and a high school transcript — should be treated as the core narrative the interview will probe, so applicants should rehearse a concise, specific answer to 'why UT, and what impact have you made in your community' rather than generic essay language. A common mistake is treating this as a national or open scholarship competition; it is a Texas-specific, UT Austin-specific program, and out-of-state students or students attending other schools (aside from the small secondary allocations to UT Dallas, UT Tyler, UT Rio Grande Valley, University of Houston, and TCU) are not competitive. Once awarded, recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA each semester and cumulatively, complete at least 6 credit hours in person per semester (all-online enrollment disqualifies), get written approval for any study-abroad term, submit grade reports each semester, and write a thank-you letter — foundation staff (administrator Elizabeth Mills) should be treated as the ongoing point of contact for compliance questions after the award is made.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Smallest Grant
$3K
Median Grant
$10K
Average Grant
$38K
Largest Grant
$186K
Based on 6 grants from the most recent 990-PF filing.
Distribution of scholarship funds for tuition, books, fees, etc. To the university of texas at austin, tx for the benefit of students
Expenses: $150K
Distribution of scholarship funds for tuition, books, fees, etc. To the university of houston, tx for the benefit of students
Expenses: $10K
Distribution of scholarship funds for tuition, books, fees, etc. To the university of texas rio grand valley for the benefit of students
Expenses: $10K
Total giving has grown steadily: $211,066 (FY2018) to $244,899 (FY2019) to $346,032 (FY2020) to $358,558 (FY2021) to $349,096 (FY2022), a 65% increase over five years, while grants paid rose from $140,000 to $225,000 over the same window (+61%). Assets grew in parallel from $6.31M (2018) to $7.40M (2022), aided by strong investment years — net investment income spiked to $550,015 in 2021 and $459,309 in 2018, versus a leaner $49,963 in 2022. Across the 22 grants captured in the grantee database .
Haraldson Foundation has distributed a total of $845K across 22 grants. The median grant size is $10K, with an average of $38K. Individual grants have ranged from $3K to $186K.
The Haraldson Foundation is a small, single-purpose family scholarship fund, not a general grantmaker — grant seekers who are not individual UT Austin-bound students have essentially no path to funding here. Founded in 1992 by Beulah Mae Wunderlich Haraldson, a self-made Texas real-estate investor, the foundation exists to keep talented Texas high schoolers in-state by funding their University of Texas at Austin education, with three directors (Betty Jean Cook, Karen Sue Emami, Jim P Dossey) ove.
Haraldson Foundation is headquartered in AUSTIN, TX.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Betty Jean Cook | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Karen Sue Emami | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Jim P Dossey | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
$349K
Total Assets
$7.4M
Fair Market Value
N/A
Net Worth
$7.3M
Grants Paid
$225K
Contributions
N/A
Net Investment Income
$50K
Distribution Amount
N/A
Total: $7.3M
Total Grants
22
Total Giving
$845K
Average Grant
$38K
Median Grant
$10K
Unique Recipients
8
Most Common Grant
$10K
of 2023 grantees were first-time recipients
| Recipient | Location | Amount | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| University Of TexasScholarship | Austin, TX | $180K | 2023 |
| University Of Houston Rio GrandeScholarship | Edinburg, TX | $15K | 2023 |
| University Of Texas DallasScholarship | Richardson, TX | $10K | 2023 |
| University Of Texas TylerScholarship | Tyler, TX | $10K | 2023 |
| Texas Christian UniversityScholarship | Fort Worth, TX | $10K | 2023 |
| University Of Houston Rio Grand ValleyDISTRIBUTION OF SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS FOR TUITION, BOOKS, FEES, ETC. TO THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS RIO GRAND VALLEY FOR THE BENEFIT OF STUDENTS | Edinburg, TX | $10K | 2022 |
| Gifts Given By Blue Bell CreameriesVARIOUS QUALIFIED CHARITIES | Brenham, TX | $3K | 2022 |
| University Of HoustonDISTRIBUTION OF SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS FOR TUITION, BOOKS, FEES, ETC. TO THE UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON, TX FOR THE BENEFIT OF STUDENTS | Houston, TX | $5K | 2021 |