Also known as: FLYNN KARL & JUNE MARTIN JR FDN
1 organization on Granted has this foundation in their pipeline
Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Karl And Georgia Martin Sr Anna Belle Flynn Karl And June Martin is a private trust based in OKLAHOMA CITY, OK. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 1996. The principal officer is Trust Company Of Oklahoma. It holds total assets of $8.8M. Annual income is reported at $3.4M. Total assets have grown from $5.1M in 2011 to $8.8M in 2025. The foundation is governed by 3 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2015 to 2025. Grantmaking is concentrated in Oklahoma. According to available records, Karl And Georgia Martin Sr Anna Belle Flynn Karl And June Martin has made 79 grants totaling $3.6M, with a median grant of $50K. The foundation has distributed between $425K and $1.8M annually from 2020 to 2025. Grantmaking activity was highest in 2022 with $1.8M distributed across 40 grants. Individual grants have ranged from $3K to $105K, with an average award of $46K. The foundation has supported 23 unique organizations. Grants have been distributed to organizations in Oklahoma and Virginia. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
This is a legacy family trust honoring Karl and Georgia Martin, Sr., Anna Belle Flynn, and Karl and June Martin, Jr. — rooted in the family's Oklahoma oil-and-gas history and administered day-to-day by Trust Company of Oklahoma. There is no program staff; the three current trustees (Richard A. Goranson, Joe Womack, Clell I. Cunningham) each draw a modest $5,000 annual stipend, not a program-officer salary, and decisions run through TCO rather than an open online process. The foundation runs on a preprinted, request-by-mail application rather than a digital portal — a first sign that this is a relationship-driven, not marketing-driven, funder. The grant history confirms it: of 79 recorded grants totaling $3.6225 million, the OSU Foundation alone captured 12 grants worth $910,000, all earmarked for Petroleum Engineering & Geology or the Renewable Energy Program — a direct echo of the mission statement ("ASSISTANCE GIVEN TO THE OSU FOUNDATION – RENEWABLE ENERGY PROGRAM / PETROLEUM ENGINEERING & GEOLOGY PROGRAM"). Beyond OSU, a tight circle of roughly 15 Oklahoma institutions recur year after year: University of Oklahoma and University of Central Oklahoma nursing schools ($300,000/6 grants each), Special Care Inc. child care ($350,000/6 grants), Positive Tomorrows homeless children's education (~$262,500/7 grants), plus Oklahoma City Community College, Metro Tech Foundation, and Francis Tuttle Foundation for scholarships. First-time applicants should understand they are competing for a small remainder of the budget after these repeat commitments, and that the surest path in is a named scholarship or program tightly matched to petroleum, aerospace, general engineering, education, or nursing — the fields explicitly listed in the foundation's stated restrictions. The one notable exception to the Oklahoma-only pattern is James Madison Education Fund Inc. in Virginia, which has received four grants totaling $192,000 for secondary STEM teacher training — proof the foundation will fund out-of-state work if it serves the founders' engineering-education intent precisely. Expect the relationship to progress from a phoned-in application request, to a written submission by the April 30 deadline, to trustee review and notification ahead of the fall semester — with no formal LOI, site-visit, or online tracking stage documented anywhere in the public record.
The foundation paid out $632,500 in grants in FY2025 against $8,779,173 in total assets — a roughly 7.2% payout rate, comfortably above the 5% federal minimum distribution requirement. Giving has fluctuated with investment performance rather than following a steady ramp: $327,000 (FY2012) rose to a ten-year high of $755,000 (FY2020), fell to $425,000 (FY2021) as markets reset, then recovered to $550,000 (FY2023) and $632,500 (FY2025). Total assets have grown 71.7% over that window, from $5.1 million (2012) to $8.78 million (2025), funded entirely by net investment income (averaging roughly $400,000/year) since the foundation has received zero new outside contributions in every year on record. Per the foundation's own 990-PF, the most recent individual grants ranged from $10,000 to $75,000, with a median of $40,000 and an average of $35,417 across 12 awards — a useful benchmark for sizing a request. Looking at the fuller 79-grant history (avg. $45,854/grant, reflecting some larger multi-year cumulative gifts), OSU Foundation is the dominant recipient at $910,000 across 12 grants (25.1% of all dollars), split between Petroleum Engineering & Geology and the Renewable Energy Program. Nursing scholarships at the University of Oklahoma and University of Central Oklahoma each total $300,000 (6 grants apiece, 16.5% combined). Human-services giving — Special Care Inc. ($350,000/6 grants for child care), Positive Tomorrows (~$262,500/7 grants for homeless children's education), Pivot Inc. ($95,000/7 grants for family services), Regional Food Bank of Oklahoma ($100,000), and smaller meals/adoption/anti-trafficking gifts (Dragonfly Home $50,000, The Gift Goes On $10,000, Edmond Mobile Meals/Ending Hunger OKC/Meals on Wheels of Metro Tulsa $10,000 each) — makes up roughly 20-25% of total dollars. Geographically, 75 of 79 grants (95%) went to Oklahoma organizations; the sole exception is James Madison Education Fund Inc. in Virginia ($192,000/4 grants for secondary-teacher STEM training). By program area, education and scholarships account for well over half of lifetime giving, health/nursing roughly 10-15% (including two one-time $100,000 COVID-era nursing-support gifts to Integris Foundation and Mercy Foundation in 2020-2021), and human services the remainder.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Karl and Georgia Martin Sr Anna Belle Flynn Karl and June Martin | $8.78M | $632,500 (FY2025) | Education (petroleum/energy engineering, nursing) | Preprinted form, request directly |
| Kampeter Family Charitable Foundation (MO) | $8.77M | Not publicly disclosed | Education | Not publicly disclosed |
| True Nature Healing Arts Foundation (CO) | $8.79M | Not publicly disclosed | Education | Not publicly disclosed |
| Robert Keleher Private Foundation Inc. (NY) | $8.80M | Not publicly disclosed | Education | Not publicly disclosed |
| Board Of Trustees Of Woodward High School (OH) | $8.80M | Not publicly disclosed | Education | Not publicly disclosed |
| Cleveland Medical Library Association (OH) | $8.81M | Not publicly disclosed | Education | Not publicly disclosed |
All six foundations sit in a tight $8.77-8.81 million asset band and share the IRS "Education" NTEE classification, but the Martin/Flynn foundation stands out for actually disclosing a giving figure and payout rate — its $632,500 FY2025 distribution implies roughly 7.2% of assets, well above the 5% federal floor, while the peer foundations' names suggest more institutionally embedded governance (a high school board of trustees, a medical library association) rather than a professionally trusteed family fund. Unlike most of its peer set, this foundation's giving is almost entirely founder-directed toward a single anchor institution (OSU Foundation) plus a recurring circle of Oklahoma partners, making it a narrower, more predictable target than a typical education-focused community or corporate foundation of similar size.
No foundation-specific press coverage, leadership announcements, or new-program news turned up in web research — consistent with a small, professionally administered family trust that generates no public relations activity. The most concrete recent data point is the FY2025 Form 990-PF, filed March 6, 2026, which reported $8,779,173 in total assets (up from $7,700,857 in FY2023) and $632,500 in grants paid, continuing a recovery from the FY2021 dip to $425,000. The current trustee slate — Richard A. Goranson, Joe Womack, and Clell I. Cunningham, each compensated $5,000 annually — has held steady across the last several filings, though earlier filings also listed a fourth trustee, Edward J. Havrilla, who no longer appears on the board; no public explanation for that change was found. Trust Company of Oklahoma, the administrator, has been rolling out a modern Grant Lifecycle Management (GLM) online portal (branded "Responsive Grants Program") for some of the funds it manages, but that page does not name this foundation, and the foundation's own IRS filing still describes a preprinted, request-by-mail application — suggesting this fund has not yet migrated to TCO's newer digital process. The most notable recent-history activity remains the foundation's COVID-era responsiveness: in 2020-2021 it made two one-time $100,000 grants for nursing support to the Integris Foundation and the Mercy Foundation, stepping outside its normal recipient list to address an acute local health-system need — a pattern worth citing if pitching a time-sensitive, mission-adjacent request.
Because there is no evidence of an online application specific to this foundation, the first and most important step is a phone call to Trust Company of Oklahoma at (405) 840-8401 (or a letter to PO Box 14940, Oklahoma City, OK 73113) to request the preprinted application — submitting an unsolicited written proposal without first requesting the form risks going unreviewed. Build in lead time for the April 30 deadline (funding the following fall school year); calling by early-to-mid March gives enough runway for the form to arrive and be completed. Align the request explicitly with the fields named in the foundation's own restriction language — petroleum engineering, aerospace engineering, energy, general engineering, education, and nursing — even if your organization is a human-services nonprofit; the strongest historical parallel is Positive Tomorrows and Special Care Inc., both of which frame their requests around specific, named programs (elementary education for homeless children; child care) rather than general operating support. There is no unrestricted or general-operating gift anywhere in the 79-grant history, so requests should always name a specific fund, scholarship, or program. Size the ask to the documented $10,000-$75,000 band (recent median $40,000) — the $100,000 COVID-nursing gifts were emergency exceptions, not a template for a standard request. Because the trustees are compensated administrators rather than Martin family descendants, proposals should read as businesslike and outcomes-oriented (numbers of scholarships funded, students served, meals distributed) while still explicitly invoking the founders' OSU petroleum-engineering and energy legacy by name — this signals fit to reviewers working from founder intent rather than personal relationships. A common mistake for new applicants would be treating this like a modern competitive grants program with public RFPs and portals; instead, expect a slow, relationship-first process mediated entirely through Trust Company of Oklahoma, with the first year functioning as an introduction rather than a guaranteed award. Reapply each cycle rather than assuming multi-year continuation — the grant-count pattern (six separate grants each to OU and UCO, for example) shows even long-standing partners resubmit annually.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Smallest Grant
$10K
Median Grant
$40K
Average Grant
$35K
Largest Grant
$75K
Based on 12 grants from the most recent 990-PF filing.
Assistance given to the regional food bank of oklahoma
Expenses: $75K
Assistance given to oklahoma city university.
Expenses: $50K
Scholarhips for nursing at the university of oklahoma
Expenses: $50K
Scholarships for the school of nursing at the university of central oklahoma
Expenses: $50K
The foundation paid out $632,500 in grants in FY2025 against $8,779,173 in total assets — a roughly 7.2% payout rate, comfortably above the 5% federal minimum distribution requirement. Giving has fluctuated with investment performance rather than following a steady ramp: $327,000 (FY2012) rose to a ten-year high of $755,000 (FY2020), fell to $425,000 (FY2021) as markets reset, then recovered to $550,000 (FY2023) and $632,500 (FY2025). Total assets have grown 71.7% over that window, from $5.1 mil.
Karl And Georgia Martin Sr Anna Belle Flynn Karl And June Martin has distributed a total of $3.6M across 79 grants. The median grant size is $50K, with an average of $46K. Individual grants have ranged from $3K to $105K.
This is a legacy family trust honoring Karl and Georgia Martin, Sr., Anna Belle Flynn, and Karl and June Martin, Jr. — rooted in the family's Oklahoma oil-and-gas history and administered day-to-day by Trust Company of Oklahoma. There is no program staff; the three current trustees (Richard A. Goranson, Joe Womack, Clell I. Cunningham) each draw a modest $5,000 annual stipend, not a program-officer salary, and decisions run through TCO rather than an open online process. The foundation runs on a.
Karl And Georgia Martin Sr Anna Belle Flynn Karl And June Martin is headquartered in OKLAHOMA CITY, OK. While based in OK, the foundation distributes grants to organizations across 2 states.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CLELL I CUNNINGHAM | TRUSTEE | $5K | $0 | $5K |
| JOE WOMACK | TRUSTEE | $5K | $0 | $5K |
| RICHARD A GORANSON | TRUSTEE | $5K | $0 | $5K |
Total Giving
$633K
Total Assets
$8.8M
Fair Market Value
$12.9M
Net Worth
$8.2M
Grants Paid
$633K
Contributions
N/A
Net Investment Income
$546K
Distribution Amount
$581K
Total: $7.7M
Total Grants
79
Total Giving
$3.6M
Average Grant
$46K
Median Grant
$50K
Unique Recipients
23
Most Common Grant
$50K
of 2025 grantees were first-time recipients
| Recipient | Location | Amount | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| FRANCIS TUTTLE FOUNDATIONSCHOLARSHIPS & STUDENT ASSISTANCE | OKLAHOMA CITY, OK | $105K | 2025 |
| SPECIAL CARE INCPROVIDE CARE FOR CHILDREN | OKLAHOMA CITY, OK | $100K | 2025 |
| UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL OKLAHOMAFOR NURSING SCHOLARSHIPS | EDMOND, OK | $60K | 2025 |
| THE UNIVERSITY OF OKLAHOMAFOR NURSING SCHOLORSHIPS | NORMAN, OK | $60K | 2025 |
| METRO TECH FOUNDATIONASSIST STUDENT PROGRAMS | OKLAHOMA CITY, OK | $50K | 2025 |
| MID-CONTINENT GEOLOGICAL LIBRARYESTABLISH GEOLOGICAL DIGITAL RECORDS | EDMOND, OK | $50K | 2025 |
| POSITIVE TOMORROWSPROVIDE ELEM. EDUCATION TO HOMELESS | OKLAHOMA CITY, OK | $43K | 2025 |
| OSU FOUNDATIONRENEWABLE ENERGY PROGRAM | STILLWATER, OK | $43K | 2025 |
| FND OKLAHOMA CITY COMMUNITY COLLASSIST STUDENT PROGRAMS & SCHOLARSHI | OKLAHOMA CITY, OK | $20K | 2025 |
| PIVOT INCASSISTING FAMILIES AND CHILDREN | OKLAHOMA CITY, OK | $15K | 2025 |
| James Madison Education Fund IncFOR SECONDARY TEACHERS | Alexanderia, VA | $48K | 2022 |
| Oklahoma City Community CollegeSCHOLARSHIPS & FUND ART PROGRAM | Oklahoma City, OK | $22K | 2022 |
| The Gift Goes OnHELP WITH THE COST OF ADOPTION | Bethany, OK | $3K | 2022 |