Also known as: ATTN KATIE MOONEY
Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Peter Bullough Foundation is a private trust based in WINCHESTER, VA. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2019. The principal officer is Catanio & Gutwetter Pa. It holds total assets of $6.5M. Annual income is reported at $1.1M. Total assets have grown from N/A in 2018 to $6.6M in 2023. The foundation is governed by 8 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2021 to 2023. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
The Peter Bullough Foundation (PBF) is not a conventional pass-through grantmaker and grant-seeking organizations chasing project or operating support should recalibrate expectations before applying. Its IRS Form 990 filings show $0 in third-party "grants paid" in every fiscal year on record (2018-2023) even though total giving ran $286,079-$332,611 annually from 2021-2023 — because PBF is an operating foundation that spends its money running its own signature program, a fully-hosted interdisciplinary artist residency in Winchester, VA, rather than writing checks to outside nonprofits. The practical implication: the 'grant' here is a residency award (private housing, dedicated studio, $600 stipend, four weeks) made directly to individual artists, writers, and scholars — not to organizations, and not as unrestricted cash. Founded in 2017 by Dr. Peter G. Bullough and formally operating since August 2020 (first residents in 2021), the foundation is small and personal in scale: roughly 9-12 residency slots per year split across a Fall national cohort (9 residents in 2026), a Spring national cohort, and a newer 3-person local-summer track for Shenandoah Valley-based artists. There is no LOI-to-full-proposal cultivation ladder typical of institutional funders. Instead, it's a single seasonal open call through SlideRoom, reviewed by foundation staff, a residency committee, and the board, occasionally followed by an interview, with decisions announced 30-45 days after each deadline. First-time applicants should understand this is identity- and community-fit driven rather than budget-and-outcomes driven: PBF explicitly favors emerging, self-directed artists who are 'serious about their work,' welcomes an unusually broad range of disciplines (visual arts, literature, film/video, music composition, playwriting, poetry, theatre, architecture), and states a formal tiebreaker preference for LGBTQIA2S+ and BIPOC applicants when scores are equal. Executive Director Katie Mooney Buzby has run the program since its 2020 launch (officer compensation $72K-$79K/year), giving continuity to the review process. Organizations seeking institutional grants should look elsewhere; individual creatives seeking a fully-funded, community-embedded residency are the intended audience.
PBF's balance sheet reflects a young foundation still building its endowment base rather than a mature high-volume grantmaker. Total assets grew from $97,768 (FY2019) to $2,011,544 (FY2020) to $6,302,491 (FY2021) — the FY2021 jump driven by a $4,568,273 contribution, almost certainly a founding/estate gift tied to Dr. Bullough's passing — and have since stabilized around $6.3M-$6.8M (FY2022: $6,763,363; FY2023: $6,550,126; current asset_amount on file: $6,464,238). Annual program spending ('total giving,' which funds the residency program directly rather than external grants) has held in a consistent band: $27,430 (2019, pre-launch) → $69,186 (2020) → $314,459 (2021) → $286,079 (2022) → $332,611 (2023), a roughly flat-to-modestly-growing trajectory around $300K/year as the program matured post-launch. Program expenses of $251,887 in the single reported program line (residency + collection-sharing) confirm this is the entirety of the foundation's charitable activity — there is no separate grants budget to analyze by median/range, because individual cash grants to organizations do not exist here. Contributions received have been volatile and gift-driven rather than steady: $685,138 in 2022, dropping to $184,442 in 2023, alongside modest net investment income ($19,738 in 2023, $21,953 in 2022). With ~9-12 residency awards per year, each effectively 'worth' the $600 stipend plus in-kind housing/studio space (likely a multiple-thousand-dollar in-kind value per resident once facilities and staff support are counted), this is best understood as a high-touch, low-dollar-per-award program rather than a large-check funder. There is no geographic restriction on applicants (eligible to US residents and US citizens abroad), and no program-area breakdown beyond the single interdisciplinary-arts residency line — 100% of giving flows to one program.
PBF sits in a tight cluster of small, single-program Arts & Culture foundations with near-identical asset bases in the $6.3M-$6.5M range, but its residency model differentiates it sharply from cash-grant peers.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Peter Bullough Foundation (VA) | $6.46M | ~$300-330K (internal program spend) | Artist residency + collection sharing | Open (seasonal, SlideRoom) |
| White Family Foundation (MA) | $6.44M | Not disclosed in data | Arts & Culture | Likely invited/unpublished |
| Herman Maril Foundation Inc. (MA) | $6.49M | Not disclosed in data | Arts & Culture (visual art legacy) | Likely invited/unpublished |
| Riverstyx Foundation (CA) | $6.52M | Not disclosed in data | Arts & Culture | Has public website — check for open call |
| The Bellis Blauvelt-Demarest Foundations Inc. (NJ) | $6.40M | Not disclosed in data | Arts & Culture | Likely invited/unpublished |
| Hollister House Garden Inc. (CT) | $6.38M | Not disclosed in data | Arts & Culture (garden/horticultural arts) | Has public website — program-based |
Unlike most of these peers, which have no public grant-application URL on file and likely operate as closely-held family or legacy foundations making invitation-only or in-kind gifts, PBF is unusual in running a fully public, competitive, seasonal open call (SlideRoom-based) with published eligibility and a defined review timeline. For grant seekers, PBF is realistically the most accessible of this peer set to a first-time, unconnected applicant — but only for individual artists, not organizations, since none of these five peers show meaningful third-party grant distribution in the data on file.
PBF's most recent activity centers on cohort announcements rather than policy or leadership change. On June 18, 2026, the foundation announced nine Fall 2026 residents working across textiles/printmaking/electronic art, journalism, painting, sculpture/animation, poetry/theatre, printmaking/sculpture, poetry/visual art, curation, and fiction — including a 2025 NEA Literature Fellow (.CHISARAOKWU., MD) and a 2025 Knight Election Hub Fellow (Ema O'Connor), indicating the foundation is successfully attracting residents with existing national recognition, not only first-time emerging artists. One day earlier (June 17, 2026), it named three Summer 2026 local residents (ceramics, writing, weaving) under its Shenandoah Valley-focused track. A 2025 Year in Review post went up June 16, 2026. The most notable fundraising event was a December 8, 2025 online estate-sale auction (via Headley's Auctions) of items from Dr. Peter Bullough's personal estate, supplemented by donations from named supporters Nancy and Nelson Schaenen Jr. and Morgan and Dan O'Brien, with proceeds directed to the residency program — consistent with a foundation still actively converting founder-estate assets into program capacity five-plus years after Dr. Bullough's death. Leadership has been stable: Katie Mooney Buzby has served as Executive Director since the 2020 launch across all three years of compensation data reviewed ($79,000 in 2021, $72,000 in 2022, $77,000 in 2023), and Dr. Anand Jagannath has held the Board President role across the same period. No major program pivots, funding-priority changes, or public controversies surfaced in available news coverage; the trajectory is one of steady, incremental cohort growth (Fall 2026's nine residents is among the larger cohorts on record) and program-line expansion (the newer local-summer track).
Time applications to the actual seasonal windows: fall-residency applications typically open mid-January and run 5-6 weeks; spring-residency applications open mid-April on a similar window (verify exact current-cycle dates on peterbulloughfoundation.org/spring-and-fall-residencies before applying, since third-party listing sites can show stale deadlines). Apply through SlideRoom (peterbulloughfoundation.slideroom.com) with a $20 application fee, a CV/qualifications statement, an original work-sample portfolio, and two professional references — assemble references early since PBF's small staff and volunteer committee move through review in a defined 30-45 day post-deadline window and don't accept late reference submissions. Disclose any AI involvement in submitted work samples or written responses explicitly and specifically; PBF has made this a stated application requirement, and treating it as optional or omitting it is a documented mistake to avoid. In the narrative sections, speak directly to two things PBF says it evaluates: (1) whether you are 'self-directed' and can articulate a specific project you'll pursue during the 4-week residency (vague 'I want to explore my practice' language underperforms against artists who name a concrete body of work or manuscript), and (2) how you'll fulfill the mandatory community-engagement requirement — every resident must host a public workshop, lecture, or event, so proposing a specific format (not just 'I'll do outreach') signals preparedness. Use alignment language tied to PBF's stated vision ('save civilization through the power of the arts') and its founding story (Dr. Bullough's inspiration from artist Sakiko Ide's struggle for recognition) where authentic — but don't force it if it doesn't fit your practice. Because PBF states an explicit tiebreaker preference for LGBTQIA2S+ and BIPOC applicants when scores are equal, applicants from underserved communities should not shy away from naming that context if it's relevant to their work or lived experience. With only 2-3 residents per 4-week session and roughly a dozen total slots per year, treat this as a highly selective, small-batch program — a warm outreach isn't possible (no LOI or pre-application contact process is documented), so the SlideRoom submission itself has to carry the full case. Common mistake to avoid: applying as an organization or for a cash grant — PBF does not fund third-party nonprofits or projects outside its own residency structure, and inquiries seeking that will not fit its model regardless of application quality.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
The Peter Bullough Foundation believes in supporting emerging artists in a variety of ways, through an interdisciplinary artist residency and through sharing the collection of Dr. Peter Bullough, which contains many pieces from students Dr. Bullough supported. The Foundation also hosts events and gallery showings throughout the year
Expenses: $252K
PBF's balance sheet reflects a young foundation still building its endowment base rather than a mature high-volume grantmaker. Total assets grew from $97,768 (FY2019) to $2,011,544 (FY2020) to $6,302,491 (FY2021) — the FY2021 jump driven by a $4,568,273 contribution, almost certainly a founding/estate gift tied to Dr. Bullough's passing — and have since stabilized around $6.3M-$6.8M (FY2022: $6,763,363; FY2023: $6,550,126; current asset_amount on file: $6,464,238). Annual program spending ('tota.
The Peter Bullough Foundation (PBF) is not a conventional pass-through grantmaker and grant-seeking organizations chasing project or operating support should recalibrate expectations before applying. Its IRS Form 990 filings show $0 in third-party "grants paid" in every fiscal year on record (2018-2023) even though total giving ran $286,079-$332,611 annually from 2021-2023 — because PBF is an operating foundation that spends its money running its own signature program, a fully-hosted interdiscip.
Peter Bullough Foundation is headquartered in WINCHESTER, VA.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Katie Mooney | Executive Dir. | $77K | $0 | $77K |
| Harriet Gerard | Director | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Todd Brockwell | Treasurer | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Peter A Bullough | Director | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Dr Mark Edgar | Director | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Mary Margaret Wise | Director | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Courtney Reilly | Director | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Anand Jagannath | President | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
$333K
Total Assets
$6.6M
Fair Market Value
$7.5M
Net Worth
$6.5M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
$184K
Net Investment Income
$20K
Distribution Amount
N/A
Total: $4.5M
No individual grant records are available. Visit the foundation's 990-PF filings below for detailed grantee information.