Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Pineland Farms Inc. is a private corporation based in NEW GLOUCESTR, ME. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2001. The principal officer is Libra Foundation. It holds total assets of $5.1M. Annual income is reported at $14M. Total assets have grown from $4.9M in 2011 to $8.2M in 2023. The foundation is governed by 5 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2018 to 2023. According to available records, Pineland Farms Inc. has made 1 grants totaling $3K, with a median grant of $3K. Grant recipients are concentrated in Maine. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
Pineland Farms, Inc. (EIN 01-0538172, New Gloucester, ME) is not a responsive grantmaking foundation in the conventional sense, and grant seekers should approach it as such. Its IRS mission language describes selling goods related to farming and educational programs, promoting sustainable agriculture, and running outdoor skiing/hiking operations — an operating nonprofit that runs the 5,000-acre Pineland campus, not a fund that reviews outside applications. It is the operating entity within the Libra Foundation network: the campus real estate is held by October Corporation, Libra Foundation's nonprofit title-holding company, and Libra (created by the late Elizabeth B. Noyce) is the actual Maine-focused grantmaker behind the project. Across the ten fiscal years in this record, Pineland Farms, Inc. reported an actual outside grant (the 'grants_paid' line, distinct from total program spending) in only three of ten years — $6,647 (FY2015), $731 (FY2019), and $2,500 (FY2020) — with $0 in every other year, including the three most recent years on file (FY2021-FY2023). The one identifiable grantee in the dataset is the 10th Mountain Ski Club, which received a $2,500 sponsorship, not a competitive grant award. Trustees (Morris Fisher, President; Richard Petersen, Secretary; Roberta Wright, Christopher Emmons, Dana Baldwin, all Trustees) draw modest annual compensation of $1,000-$4,000, consistent with a lean governance board overseeing an operating subsidiary rather than a staffed grantmaking institution. For organizations seeking funding, the realistic paths are: (1) apply to the Libra Foundation directly, since it is the entity that actually reviews and funds charitable proposals connected to Maine; or (2) pursue a sponsorship, in-kind, or venue partnership directly with Pineland Farms staff (Welcome Center, (207) 688-4539) modeled on the 10th Mountain Ski Club relationship — framed as a collaboration around agriculture, education, or outdoor recreation programming on the Pineland campus, not as a grant application. First-time applicants should not submit a standard LOI or grant proposal to Pineland Farms, Inc. without first calling to confirm a program exists, since none is documented publicly.
The financial pattern here is unusual for an entity classified as a grantmaker and should be read carefully. 'Total giving' in Pineland Farms, Inc.'s Form 990 data — $8,979,492 (FY2023), $8,708,476 (FY2022), $7,932,897 (FY2021), $7,340,042 (FY2020), $7,490,042 (FY2019) — reflects total program/operating expenditure on Pineland's own farm, dairy, education, and recreation activities, not grants distributed to outside organizations. The distinct 'grants_paid' line, which does capture money sent to external grantees, was $0 in seven of the ten years on record (FY2011-FY2014, FY2021-FY2023) and otherwise negligible: $6,647 (FY2015), $731 (FY2019), and $2,500 (FY2020) — a combined $9,878 in outside grants across a decade in which the organization reported over $70M in cumulative 'total giving' (i.e., program spending). Total assets grew from $4,981,422 (FY2019) to $5,337,736 (FY2021) to $8,155,333 (FY2023), a roughly 64% increase in the most recent three years alone, funded by consistent annual contributions of $3.8M-$4.8M (contributions received: $4,364,893 in FY2023, $4,473,164 in FY2022, $3,833,794 in FY2021) — almost certainly internal transfers from Libra Foundation/October Corporation to fund campus operations and capital projects, not public fundraising. Net investment income was $0 across every year on file, indicating assets are held for operational use rather than invested for grantmaking payout. Officer compensation ($19,000 in FY2023, spread across five trustees) is negligible relative to the organization's $9.3M FY2023 revenue, again consistent with a lean operating board. The single documented outside grant — $2,500 to the 10th Mountain Ski Club for sponsorship, geographically concentrated in Maine — is too small a sample (n=1) to support any claim about program-area or geographic funding priorities; the DB's 'Arts & Culture' NTEE classification (A80) does not match the organization's stated agricultural/educational/recreational mission and should be treated as a data artifact rather than a funding-priority signal.
Pineland Farms, Inc. is grouped in this dataset with four peers sharing its 'Arts & Culture' NTEE classification and a similar asset band (~$5.0M-$5.15M by the cross-sectional asset_amount field, versus Pineland's $8.15M total assets in its most recent FY2023 filing). None of the peers have a confirmed public grants program either — none list a website except Wo Hing Society — underscoring that small entities in this NTEE bucket are frequently operating or family-vehicle nonprofits rather than active grantmakers.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pineland Farms, Inc. | $8.16M (FY2023) | $8.98M (mostly self-operated programs, not grants) | Agriculture / Education / Recreation (operating nonprofit) | No public process — invited/direct only |
| Sepetjian Family Foundation (CA) | $5.13M | Not disclosed | Arts & Culture | Unknown — no website |
| Ossorio Foundation (SC) | $5.10M | Not disclosed | Arts & Culture | Unknown — no website |
| Wo Hing Society (HI) | $5.15M | Not disclosed | Arts & Culture | Has a website (wohingfoundation.org) — worth checking directly |
| Compton Family Foundation (OR) | $5.08M | Not disclosed | Arts & Culture | Unknown — no website |
| Buffalo Creek Art Center Inc. (NV) | $5.07M | Not disclosed | Arts & Culture | Unknown — no website |
Pineland Farms, Inc. dwarfs its NTEE peer set in both assets and reported revenue, but nearly all of that spend flows into its own dairy, farm, education, and recreation operations rather than outside grants, making it a poor fit for a standard 'compare asset size to grant likelihood' approach that works for conventional family or corporate foundations. Grant seekers researching this peer cluster should independently verify whether any of these five actually run a grants program before investing proposal-writing time, since small Arts & Culture-coded entities like these are disproportionately likely to be operating vehicles, not funders.
Public activity in 2025-2026 has been entirely operational, with no signal of any grants program launch, expansion, or change. In April 2025, the Portland Press Herald reported that Pineland Farms would close its Outdoor & Fitness Center on June 1, 2025, because the building had 'reached the end of its useful life,' relocating affected programming to alternative sites on or near the campus. On the commercial side, Pineland Farms Dairy reported earning 20 cheese awards in its 2025 competition season, described as its most successful year yet — a signal of continued investment in the dairy business line that generates much of the organization's program revenue. Seasonally, the 2025/2026 winter recreation season opened December 8, 2025 (with reservations from December 1), and Maple Week is scheduled for March 16-22, 2026; a fourth, family-friendly 9-hole disc golf course is also planned as a near-term expansion of the campus's recreational offerings. No leadership changes, new funding initiatives, or grant announcements surfaced in the available coverage — trustee names (Morris Fisher, Richard Petersen, Roberta Wright, Christopher Emmons, Dana Baldwin) are unchanged across the filing years in this record. For grant seekers, the practical takeaway is that Pineland Farms' 2025-2026 momentum is entirely about running and monetizing its own farm/dairy/recreation campus, reinforcing that it is not moving toward becoming a responsive grantmaker in the near term.
There is no standard grant application process to describe here, and pretending otherwise would mislead applicants — Pineland Farms, Inc.'s own data lists 'application_instructions' as none, and no public grants portal, LOI form, guidelines document, or deadline calendar could be found on pinelandfarms.org or in web research. Practical guidance: First, do not submit a conventional grant proposal to Pineland Farms, Inc. — redirect that effort to the Libra Foundation (librafoundation.org), the Portland, ME-based private foundation that actually built and funds the Pineland campus and that runs its own charitable grantmaking program for Maine-based causes; Libra's public program pages (e.g., its 'Public/Society Benefit' category) are the correct entry point for Maine nonprofits. Second, if the specific goal is a relationship with Pineland Farms itself — because a project genuinely ties to its farm, dairy, education, or outdoor-recreation programming — the realistic model is a sponsorship or in-kind partnership rather than a grant award: the only outside payment on record, a $2,500 sponsorship of the 10th Mountain Ski Club, suggests Pineland is open to modest local sponsorships tied to its own recreational trails and community programs, not open-call grantmaking. Third, before drafting anything, call the Welcome Center at (207) 688-4539 or the main office at (207) 688-4800 to confirm, in plain language, whether Pineland Farms, Inc. currently funds any outside organizations and, if so, who reviews requests — this single phone call will save far more time than researching a formal application process that the public record shows does not exist. Fourth, the common mistake to avoid is treating the DB's 'accepting_applications: true' flag or the 'Arts & Culture' NTEE tag as evidence of an active, open grants program; both are database-level classifications that this research did not find corroborated by any public grant guidelines, deadline, or portal, and applicants who rely on them will likely get no response. Fifth, if pursuing Libra Foundation instead, lead with a clear Maine-benefit framing (Libra's mission is explicitly Maine-only), since that geographic restriction is the single most important eligibility filter across the whole Libra/Pineland network.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
The organization sold goods related to its farming and educational programs, promoting sustainability of local agriculture and providing educational opportunities for the public. Outdoor skiing and hiking operations promote amateur athletics and healthy lifestyles through recreation.
Expenses: $3.6M
The financial pattern here is unusual for an entity classified as a grantmaker and should be read carefully. 'Total giving' in Pineland Farms, Inc.'s Form 990 data — $8,979,492 (FY2023), $8,708,476 (FY2022), $7,932,897 (FY2021), $7,340,042 (FY2020), $7,490,042 (FY2019) — reflects total program/operating expenditure on Pineland's own farm, dairy, education, and recreation activities, not grants distributed to outside organizations. The distinct 'grants_paid' line, which does capture money sent to.
Pineland Farms Inc. has distributed a total of $3K across 1 grants. The median grant size is $3K, with an average of $3K. Individual grants have ranged from $3K to $3K.
Pineland Farms, Inc. (EIN 01-0538172, New Gloucester, ME) is not a responsive grantmaking foundation in the conventional sense, and grant seekers should approach it as such. Its IRS mission language describes selling goods related to farming and educational programs, promoting sustainable agriculture, and running outdoor skiing/hiking operations — an operating nonprofit that runs the 5,000-acre Pineland campus, not a fund that reviews outside applications. It is the operating entity within the L.
Pineland Farms Inc. is headquartered in NEW GLOUCESTR, ME.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Christopher Emmons | TRUSTEE | $4K | $0 | $4K |
| Morris Fisher | PRESIDENT | $4K | $0 | $4K |
| Richard Petersen | SECRETARY | $4K | $0 | $4K |
| Roberta Wright | TRUSTEE | $4K | $0 | $4K |
| Dana Baldwin | TRUSTEE | $3K | $0 | $3K |
Total Giving
$9M
Total Assets
$8.2M
Fair Market Value
$8.2M
Net Worth
$5.5M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
$4.4M
Net Investment Income
N/A
Distribution Amount
N/A
Total: N/A
Total Grants
1
Total Giving
$3K
Average Grant
$3K
Median Grant
$3K
Unique Recipients
1
Most Common Grant
$3K
of 2020 grantees were first-time recipients
| Recipient | Location | Amount | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10th Mountain Ski ClubSPONSORSHIP | Fort Kent, ME | $3K | 2020 |