Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Sid Richardson Memorial Fund is a private corporation based in FORT WORTH, TX. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2004. The principal officer is Preston M Geren Iii. It holds total assets of $16.2M. Annual income is reported at $1.7M. Total assets have grown from $6.2M in 2011 to $15.2M in 2024. The foundation is governed by 7 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2020 to 2024. According to available records, Sid Richardson Memorial Fund has made 3 grants totaling $2.8M, with a median grant of $916K. Annual giving has decreased from $1.8M in 2022 to $961K in 2023. Individual grants have ranged from $916K to $961K, with an average award of $931K. Grant recipients are concentrated in Texas. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
The Sid Richardson Memorial Fund operates as a legacy employee benefit — not a general-purpose grantmaker. It exists exclusively to distribute scholarships to the biological or adopted children and grandchildren of current or retired employees of 19 designated Sid Richardson–related companies. This distinction is critical: organizations cannot apply, and unsolicited proposals from nonprofits will not be considered. The only "grant seekers" are qualifying family members.
The fund's philosophy, articulated since its 1965 founding, is to "grant the maximum benefit to the greatest number of applicants" consistent with available income. In practice, this means annual giving is tightly tied to net investment income — the endowment generated $324,771 in net investment income in fiscal 2023 and $896,448 in fiscal 2022, with total giving tracking closely to those figures at $1.08M and $1.06M respectively. Total assets stood at $15.2M in fiscal 2024 and have ranged from $11.6M (2019) to $16.5M (2021).
For eligible applicants, the strategic framing is simple: this scholarship is a workforce benefit tied to employment tenure at a Sid Richardson entity. Qualifying employers include Sid Richardson Carbon, Ltd., BEPCO L.P., the Sid W. Richardson Foundation, Chisholm Trail Ventures L.P., Richardson Aviation, City Center Development Co., San Jose Cattle Company, Barbnet Investment Co., City Club of Fort Worth, and others (19 total). The employee must have completed at least 3 cumulative years of full-time service and either be currently employed or have retired after 15+ years, via medical disability/death, or at age 65+ before November 1, 2022.
First-time applicants should approach the fund proactively — treating it like a merit scholarship rather than a needs-based safety net. The Selection Committee, which operates independently, evaluates academic achievement, extracurricular leadership, community service, and financial need. Given that 57 of 78 awards in 2024-2025 were renewals, entering the program early in one's academic career and maintaining standing is the highest-leverage strategy for maximizing lifetime benefit.
The Sid Richardson Memorial Fund is a pure scholarship endowment, with 100% of grantmaking directed to individual student awards — no grants to organizations or nonprofits. Grant data in the IRS 990 filings is reported as a single line item ("See Attached List") because the fund distributes dozens of individual awards each cycle.
Annual giving trajectory: $284,500 (2012) → $342,500 (2013) → $366,500 (2014) → $428,000 (2015) → $526,500 (2019) → $576,750 (2020, COVID-impacted) → $905,875 (2021) → $936,000 (2022) → $933,750 (2023) → $943,000 (2024-2025). Total giving tracked in the 990s (which includes administrative costs) ran $411K-$1.08M over the same period.
Scale in 2024-2025: 78 total awards — 21 new and 57 renewals — averaging approximately $12,090 per recipient. This implies individual grants cluster in the $8,000-$15,000 annual range, typical for partial tuition/fee coverage at in-state Texas universities.
Asset base and investment income drive capacity: Net investment income was $1.92M in 2021 (an exceptional market year), $896K in 2022, and $324K in 2023 — showing meaningful year-to-year volatility. Total assets have held in the $13.9M–$16.5M band since 2021. The 2024 filing shows assets at $15.2M with revenue of $1.43M, suggesting a strong recovery year that should support continued or increased 2025-2026 awards.
IRS cap on new awards: Federal regulations limit new scholarships to 25% of annual applications. If 80 applications are received in a given year, only 20 new awards can be granted — making renewal status highly valuable and first-year competition meaningful. Renewal awards, tied to maintained academic performance, constitute roughly 73% of total annual grants.
Geographic concentration: All grantees are tied to Sid Richardson–affiliated companies based in or near Fort Worth, TX, making this effectively a Fort Worth–centered workforce benefit with statewide reach where qualifying employees reside.
The Sid Richardson Memorial Fund is comparable in asset size to a cohort of regional education scholarship foundations, though its exclusive family-employee eligibility model makes it operationally distinct from open-application scholarship programs.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sid Richardson Memorial Fund (TX) | $15.2M | ~$934K–$943K | Workforce descendant scholarships | Restricted eligibility |
| White Oak Foundation Inc. (IN) | $16.2M | Not disclosed | Education (general) | By invitation |
| McKenzie Foundation (TN) | $16.3M | Not disclosed | Education | Not publicly available |
| Wolstencroft Family Foundation (NJ) | $16.2M | Not disclosed | Education | Not publicly available |
| Robert C. Bunn Seattle Public Library Fund (TX) | $16.2M | Not disclosed | Education/Library | Not publicly available |
Among this asset peer group, the Sid Richardson Memorial Fund stands out for transparency — it operates a public website with eligibility criteria, a named scholarship coordinator, a clear deadline (March 15), and an online application portal. Most peer foundations in this size range do not accept unsolicited applications or disclose giving data publicly.
The fund's $943K in 2024-2025 annual giving represents approximately 6.2% of its $15.2M asset base — a payout rate consistent with a well-managed endowment that sustains long-term capacity. Since 1965, cumulative giving has surpassed $16.1M, nearly matching current total assets. By contrast, the Sid W. Richardson Foundation (a separate organization) manages significantly larger assets (est. $350M+) and funds nonprofits broadly across Texas.
No major leadership changes or programmatic announcements were identified in public sources for 2025-2026. The fund operates quietly as a workforce benefit with annual cycles rather than making public-facing grant announcements.
2024-2025 cycle: The most recent completed cycle awarded $943,000 across 78 scholarships — 21 new recipients and 57 renewals. This is among the fund's highest annual totals, eclipsing the prior year's $933,750 (2023) and continuing a decade-long growth trend from $428,000 in 2015.
2025-2026 cycle: Applications for the current cycle closed March 15-17, 2026, with the January 1, 2026 early submission window for eligibility determination. Award announcements typically follow the Selection Committee's annual meeting, generally in spring or early summer.
Leadership stability: Thomas White has served as President, with Heidi McDonald and Mitchell Roper as Vice Presidents, and Preston M. Geren III as Executive Director (uncompensated). Officer compensation is nominal ($625/year for compensated officers), consistent with a governance board rather than operational staff. Mary Kuykendall serves as Secretary and primary scholarship coordinator contact.
Fiscal 2024 data: The most recent 990 filing shows $15.2M in total assets and $1.43M in revenue — a recovery from the $375K revenue year in 2023 (which included only $324K net investment income). The stronger 2024 revenue suggests continued award capacity going into the 2025-2026 and 2026-2027 cycles.
Verify eligibility first — before any other step. The fund has a formal two-stage process; applicants who skip the eligibility determination and submit a full application without pre-approval will be rejected. Contact Mary Kuykendall at (817) 336-0494 ext. 7223 or bwach@sidrichardson.org to confirm your family member's employer qualifies and that the employment tenure (3+ cumulative full-time years) is documented.
Submit the Application Request before January 1. The full deadline is March 15, but the fund explicitly encourages early request submission. The eligibility review takes time, and submitting in November or December gives the staff time to process your request and send back the full application link with weeks to spare. Applicants who submit in late February risk running out of time.
Gather employment records proactively. You will need your qualifying family member's employment dates, employer name (must match one of the 19 designated entities), and nature of service (current vs. retired). HR departments at Sid Richardson Carbon, BEPCO, or other entities may require 2-4 weeks to produce formal letters or records — do not wait.
For vocational/technical applicants, name your trade. The fund explicitly lists automotive, welding, nursing, culinary arts, machining, and petroleum engineering technology as eligible vocational fields. Applicants in these programs should reference their specific field and program name in application materials to signal fit with the fund's expanded scope.
Renewal applicants: maintain a strong GPA. With 57 of 78 awards going to renewals in 2024-2025, renewal funding is the highest-value outcome. Failing to maintain academic standards is the primary way renewal recipients lose their awards — take this seriously each semester.
Address all five selection criteria explicitly: Academic achievement, record of service, extracurricular activities, leadership, and financial need are each separately weighted by the independent Selection Committee. A strong GPA alone is not sufficient — document community involvement and leadership roles specifically.
Use the portal at grantinterface.com. The fund hosts its application on the GrantInterface platform. Create your account early, as the system sends automated confirmations and links for each step — email filtering issues have caused applicants to miss deadlines.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
No program descriptions are available for this foundation. Many private foundations report program activities in their annual 990-PF filings — check the Tax Filings section below for the most recent filing.
The Sid Richardson Memorial Fund is a pure scholarship endowment, with 100% of grantmaking directed to individual student awards — no grants to organizations or nonprofits. Grant data in the IRS 990 filings is reported as a single line item ("See Attached List") because the fund distributes dozens of individual awards each cycle. Annual giving trajectory: $284,500 (2012) → $342,500 (2013) → $366,500 (2014) → $428,000 (2015) → $526,500 (2019) → $576,750 (2020, COVID-impacted) → $905,875 (2021) → .
Sid Richardson Memorial Fund has distributed a total of $2.8M across 3 grants. The median grant size is $916K, with an average of $931K. Individual grants have ranged from $916K to $961K.
The Sid Richardson Memorial Fund operates as a legacy employee benefit — not a general-purpose grantmaker. It exists exclusively to distribute scholarships to the biological or adopted children and grandchildren of current or retired employees of 19 designated Sid Richardson–related companies. This distinction is critical: organizations cannot apply, and unsolicited proposals from nonprofits will not be considered. The only "grant seekers" are qualifying family members. The fund's philosophy, ar.
Sid Richardson Memorial Fund is headquartered in FORT WORTH, TX.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Johnny Campbell | Vice President | $625 | $0 | $625 |
| Thomas White | President | $625 | $0 | $625 |
| Heidi Mcdonald | Vice President | $625 | $0 | $625 |
| Mitchell Roper | Vice President | $625 | $0 | $625 |
| Marie Hunzeker | Treasurer | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Preston M Geren Iii | Executive Director | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Mary Kuykendall | Secretary | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
N/A
Total Assets
$15.2M
Fair Market Value
N/A
Net Worth
$14.7M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
N/A
Net Investment Income
N/A
Distribution Amount
N/A
Total Grants
3
Total Giving
$2.8M
Average Grant
$931K
Median Grant
$916K
Unique Recipients
1
Most Common Grant
$916K
of 2023 grantees were first-time recipients
| Recipient | Location | Amount | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| See Attached ListScholarships | Fort Worth, TX | $961K | 2023 |