Also known as: C/O WITCHER & STEWART PA
Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Steadytown Inc. is a private corporation based in MELBOURNE, FL. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2017. The principal officer is Fuller Witcher & Company P A. It holds total assets of $6.8M. Annual income is reported at $6.8M. Total assets have grown from $399K in 2018 to $6.8M in 2024. The foundation is governed by 3 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2021 to 2024. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
Steadytown Inc. is fundamentally different from a conventional grantmaking foundation -- it is a private operating foundation (990-PF filer, EIN 46-3519067) run out of Melbourne, FL by husband-and-wife team Keith Donald (President & Treasurer) and Keri Donald (Vice President & Secretary), with Ahmed Reza and Annabelle Donald serving as directors. Rather than issuing open RFPs, Steadytown spends the large majority of its program budget directly operating its own initiatives -- 'Street to Home' homelessness services, green-infrastructure/climate-resiliency projects, and affordable-housing development in Melbourne and Brevard County -- and only a minority on 'Activity Four: Contributions to Community Partners,' explicitly framed in its own Form 990 narrative as minor grants 'to explore new areas of interest and need.' First-time applicants should understand this is a hyper-local, relationship-first funder, not a portal-based application shop: its website (steadytown.org) reads as a personal blog maintained by Keith Donald rather than an institutional grants site, and it lists no formal LOI process, deadline, or online portal. The foundation's largest recent commitments have gone to organizations it partners with directly and often co-develops alongside -- most visibly Daily Bread Inc. and the Providence Place at Sarno LLC affordable-housing project, where Steadytown is described as 'champion, financial supporter, and development team member' rather than an arms-length funder. Organizations seeking support should expect the relationship to build informally: an introduction (often through Brevard-area convenings such as the Community Foundation for Brevard, Space Coast Health Foundation, or Brevard Homeless Coalition), a period of collaboration on shared programming, and only then consideration for a minor grant or in-kind/co-development role -- not a cold LOI into a portal. Assets grew sharply from $398,527 (FY2019) to $6,754,712 (most recent filing), largely on a single-year $3.22M contribution surge, so Steadytown may have new capacity to deploy -- but its historical pattern shows no sign of scaling up external grantmaking; the money appears earmarked for its own capital project, Providence Place. Best-fit applicants are small, Melbourne/Brevard County-based nonprofits working on homelessness, green infrastructure, or affordable housing that can partner operationally with Steadytown, not simply request a check.
Steadytown's disclosed 990 program-service breakdown totals $189,101 across four activities: Homeless Services/'Street to Home' at $72,049 (38%), Green Infrastructure at $72,733 (38%), Affordable Housing Development & Finance at $5,619 (3%), and Contributions to Community Partners (minor grants to outside nonprofits) at $38,700 (20%). That last figure is the closest thing to a 'grants budget' this funder discloses -- roughly $1 in $5 of program spending reaches external organizations, with the rest funding Steadytown's own direct-service and development activity. Notably, the DB financial snapshots report $0 in 'grants_paid' for both the most recent fiscal year and FY2018/2019, consistent with an operating foundation that runs programs rather than issuing a distinct grants-paid line -- with the FY2018-labeled record's $155,501 in 'total_giving' likely corresponding to ProPublica's FY2019 program-expense figure of the same amount, a labeling ambiguity worth flagging rather than treating as a clean grants total. Asset and revenue trends (ProPublica, by IRS fiscal year) show: FY2019 revenue $51,110 / assets $398,527; FY2021 revenue $602,214 / assets $3,061,740; FY2022 revenue $393,019 / assets $3,118,843; FY2023 revenue $131,389 / assets $3,058,623; FY2024 revenue $501,027 / assets $3,534,294; and the most recent filing, revenue $3,260,766 (98.9% from contributions) / assets $6,754,712 -- a step-change driven by a single large capital infusion rather than steady programmatic growth. No individual grantee-level data is available in Granted's database (the grantee list is empty) and no public grants schedule was located, so a median or range grant size cannot be computed from disclosed data -- itself a signal that Steadytown does not publish a standard grants list the way conventional foundations do. Geographically, funding is 100% locally concentrated: every identified program and partner -- Daily Bread, Providence Place, the Melbourne Founders Museum, Heritage Park at Crane Creek, and the Brevard Homeless Coalition -- sits inside Melbourne or greater Brevard County, FL, with no evidence of giving outside this footprint.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steadytown Inc. (this foundation) | $6.75M | ~$38.7K in disclosed external minor grants (foundation self-operates ~80% of program spend) | Homelessness / Human Services (Melbourne, FL) | No formal process -- relationship-based, direct outreach |
| Watford Family Foundation Inc. | $6.75M | Not publicly disclosed | Human Services (TX) | Unknown -- no website on file |
| Abdulhussein Family Foundation Inc. | $6.74M | Not publicly disclosed | Human Services (FL) | Unknown -- no website on file |
| Little Stream Foundation | $6.78M | Not publicly disclosed | Human Services (UT) | Unknown -- no website on file |
| Chius Family Private Foundation | $6.70M | Not publicly disclosed | Human Services (CA) | Unknown -- no website on file |
| Ayn Foundation | $6.87M | Not publicly disclosed | Human Services (NY) | Unknown -- no website on file |
All six funders sit in a tight $6.70M-$6.87M asset band typical of small family/private foundations past their startup phase, and none of the five peers list a public website in Granted's database -- making Steadytown comparatively more reachable, since it at least maintains a public blog and a named contact, even without a formal grants program. Because none of these peers disclose giving levels or open application processes, grant seekers should treat all six as invitation- and relationship-driven rather than portal-driven, and prioritize board and network introductions over cold applications across the entire peer set.
Steadytown's most consequential recent activity centers on Providence Place, a supportive/affordable-housing project on Apollo Boulevard in Melbourne that Steadytown co-developed with Daily Bread Inc. under the entity Providence Place at Sarno, LLC. In March 2025, the Melbourne City Council approved a revised development agreement among the City, Providence Place at Sarno LLC/Steadytown Inc., and Daily Bread Inc., pairing a $3 million municipal grant with local philanthropic financing for the roughly $15-17 million, 119-unit project (ClickOrlando, 2025-03-07; MyNews13, 2025-03-13). As part of that transition, Daily Bread closed its longtime Fee Avenue soup kitchen -- serving its final meal in spring 2025 -- and shifted to food-truck outreach while permanent services move toward the new Providence Place site (MyNews13, 2025-05-09). This realignment lines up with Steadytown's own balance sheet: total assets jumped from $3.53M to $6.75M and contributions received hit $3.22M in the most recent fiscal year on record, consistent with a capital push tied to Providence Place rather than a broadening of general grantmaking. Earlier, during the COVID-19 emergency, Steadytown partnered with Daily Bread to launch the 'Street to Home Bridge Housing' program, providing temporary hotel/motel housing for roughly 30 homeless individuals and families -- one of Brevard County's first emergency-sheltering responses of its kind. No leadership changes have surfaced in available records; Keith and Keri Donald continue to run the organization, with Ahmed Reza and Annabelle Donald serving as directors. There is no evidence of a 2025/2026 open grant cycle, RFP, or new funding-priority announcement -- essentially all traceable recent activity is programmatic and capital-project-driven, not grantmaking to outside applicants.
Steadytown has no grants page, LOI portal, or published deadline -- do not submit a cold application expecting a standard review cycle, because none exists on record. Contact is direct: keith@steadytown.org (Keith Donald, President), with the organization also reachable via Facebook (facebook.com/steadytown) and a listed phone number, (954) 271-5560. Lead with a specific, local ask tied to homelessness, green infrastructure/climate resilience, or affordable housing in Melbourne/Brevard County -- the three areas that account for essentially all of Steadytown's roughly $189,000 in tracked program spending. Because 'Activity Four: Contributions to Community Partners' is explicitly framed as funding for partners to 'explore new areas of interest and need,' proposals that pilot something adjacent to Steadytown's existing work (for example, data/capacity building for the local Continuum of Care, or a green-infrastructure component of an affordable-housing project) are more likely to land than requests for general operating support unrelated to those themes. Expect a partnership conversation before a check: Steadytown's largest engagements -- Providence Place, Heritage Park at Crane Creek, the Melbourne Founders Museum -- all involve Steadytown as an active collaborator (financial backer, landscape designer, or development-team member), not a passive check-writer, so applicants should be ready to describe how Steadytown's staff or board could contribute expertise or convening power, not just capital. A common mistake is treating Steadytown like a standard $6-7M-asset family foundation with a straightforward payout available for general grants; in practice, only about 20% of recent disclosed program spending ($38,700) went to outside partners as minor grants, so expectations should be set for four- and five-figure awards, not six-figure grants. Use warm introductions through Brevard-area intermediaries Steadytown already works with -- the Brevard Homeless Coalition, Community Foundation for Brevard, Space Coast Health Foundation, or Daily Bread Inc. -- since a referral from one of these is far more likely to get a response than a first-contact email. On timing, the recent $3.22M contributions surge suggests near-term capital is earmarked for Providence Place completion, so new discretionary minor-grant capacity may be limited until that project stabilizes; check in after major project milestones (groundbreaking, completion) rather than mid-construction. Geography is non-negotiable: every disclosed activity sits inside Melbourne or Brevard County, FL, and organizations outside that footprint should not apply.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Activity 1: homeless services steadytown carries out an initiative called "street to home" together with partners to provide housing-led services to people experiencing homelessness in the melbourne, fl area. These services include direct financial aid to homeless persons, emergency housing assistance, permanent housing assistance, and homeless prevention activities. Steadytown works together with local non-profit agencies in direct service delivery, and local government and the continuum of care in policy development, capacity building, data and information management, and program administration.
Expenses: $72K
Activity 2: green infrastructuresteadytown carries out green infrastructure projects that support climate resiliency. This includes habitat and ecosystem restoration initiatives, rain gardens and clean-water initiatives, solar power generation and reduced energy consumption, community gardens, and tree planting initiatives and carbon sequestration. Steadytown has a focus on green infrastructure in the context of affordable housing and community development.
Expenses: $73K
Activity three: affordable housing development and financesteadytown, together with local government and non-profit partners, carries out development, financing, and capacity building activities for expanding the supply of affordable housing. This includes site identification and assessment, community relations, land acquisition, site planning and predevelopment, underwriting, construction administration, and project completion and operations support.
Expenses: $6K
Activity four: contributions to community partners:minor grants to local community non-profit agencies to explore new areas of interest and need consistent with steadytown's focus on community development.
Expenses: $39K
Steadytown's disclosed 990 program-service breakdown totals $189,101 across four activities: Homeless Services/'Street to Home' at $72,049 (38%), Green Infrastructure at $72,733 (38%), Affordable Housing Development & Finance at $5,619 (3%), and Contributions to Community Partners (minor grants to outside nonprofits) at $38,700 (20%). That last figure is the closest thing to a 'grants budget' this funder discloses -- roughly $1 in $5 of program spending reaches external organizations, with the r.
Steadytown Inc. is fundamentally different from a conventional grantmaking foundation -- it is a private operating foundation (990-PF filer, EIN 46-3519067) run out of Melbourne, FL by husband-and-wife team Keith Donald (President & Treasurer) and Keri Donald (Vice President & Secretary), with Ahmed Reza and Annabelle Donald serving as directors. Rather than issuing open RFPs, Steadytown spends the large majority of its program budget directly operating its own initiatives -- 'Street to Home' ho.
Steadytown Inc. is headquartered in MELBOURNE, FL.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANNABELLE DONALD | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| KERI DONALD | VICE PRESIDE | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| KEITH DONALD | PRESIDENT | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
N/A
Total Assets
$6.8M
Fair Market Value
$6.5M
Net Worth
$6.8M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
$3.2M
Net Investment Income
$34K
Distribution Amount
N/A
No individual grant records are available. Visit the foundation's 990-PF filings below for detailed grantee information.