Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
The Anchor Foundation Inc. is a private corporation based in NEW YORK, NY. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 1972. It holds total assets of $5.2M. Annual income is reported at $3.9M. Total assets have decreased from $9.4M in 2011 to $6.1M in 2023. The foundation is governed by 5 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2020 to 2023. The foundation primarily funds organizations in Dallas-Fort Worth area and Texas. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
A critical identification issue governs any strategy here. The IRS record for EIN 13-2706215, "The Anchor Foundation Inc.," is a New York private foundation (subsection 03, foundation code 03, ruled exempt January 1972) whose registered address is 305 Seventh Avenue, 18th Floor, New York, NY. Its directors and officers — Jack Barnes and Mary Alice Waters (each drawing roughly $102,400-$125,000/year in recent filings), Norton Sandler (President/Director, uncompensated), Stephen Clark (Secretary-Treasurer/Director, uncompensated), David Prince (Director, uncompensated), plus a compensated Editor role added in FY2025 — are figures long associated with Pathfinder Press, and Cause IQ's own listing tags the filer as "The Anchor Foundation / Pathfinder." This is a fundamentally different organization from the Dallas-Ft. Worth divorce-support charity at theanchorfoundation.org, which is legally Bergman Foundation I d/b/a The Anchor Foundation (EIN 83-0589515). Any grant-seeker research that conflates the two — including a mission statement about non-custodial parents and children, a Texas geographic focus, or an info@theanchorfoundation.org contact — is describing the wrong entity for this EIN.
Given the actual filer, the operative fact for strategy purposes is that it is structured and behaves as a private OPERATING foundation: every year of financial data available (FY2011 through FY2023 in the source dataset, and FY2024-FY2025 per ProPublica) reports $0 in grants paid to outside organizations, even though total charitable disbursements run $1.0M-$1.3M annually (92-93% of expenses, per ProPublica). That combination — heavy self-directed charitable spending with zero external grants — is the signature of an organization running its own program in-house (consistent with `is_operating: true` in the underlying data) rather than a grantmaker that reviews outside applications.
Practically: this foundation should not be treated as a prospect for an unsolicited grant request. There is no published RFP, no LOI process, no board cycle for outside applicants, and no track record of funding external 501(c)(3)s to point to. If your organization's mission is family stability, divorce support, or non-custodial-parent services and you found this profile through a name search, your actual target is very likely the unrelated Texas entity — verify the EIN before making contact either way.
The reported financial pattern is unusual and worth stating plainly: across every fiscal year in the dataset (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023) plus FY2024-FY2025 per ProPublica, `grants_paid` to outside organizations is $0. There is no median grant size, no grant range, and no program-area or geographic breakdown to report for external funding, because none has been disbursed in the 14+ years of filings reviewed. Any grantee list, program-area split, or geographic focus attributed to this EIN elsewhere should be treated as unreliable (see the naming-collision note above) rather than filled in with placeholder figures.
What the foundation does report spending is 'total giving' / 'charitable disbursements,' which has stayed in a narrow band for over a decade: $1,071,308 (FY2011), $1,168,884 (FY2012), $1,194,458 (FY2013, the 14-year high before FY2025), $1,141,825 (FY2014), $1,071,274 (FY2015), $1,040,092 (FY2019), $1,083,787 (FY2020), $1,007,335 (FY2021, the low point), $1,097,059 (FY2022), $1,105,800 (FY2023), and $1,304,910 in FY2025 per ProPublica — a new high, but paired with a $412,220 revenue shortfall that year. Since none of this is flowing to outside grantees, it is best read as direct program spending (consistent with the Pathfinder Press editorial association and the newly-added $59,800 Editor compensation line in FY2025) rather than a grants budget.
On the asset side, total assets have declined steadily and substantially: $9,368,100 (FY2011) to $8,798,182 (FY2012) to $8,000,459 (FY2013) to $7,458,473 (FY2014) to $7,101,617 (FY2015) to $5,891,493 (FY2019) to $5,458,329 (FY2020) to $5,653,871 (FY2021) to $5,785,483 (FY2022) to $6,067,045 (FY2023) to $5,219,082 (FY2025 per ProPublica) — a 44% erosion over 14 years. Net investment income has been erratic and often $0 (2011-2015, 2021), spiking only to $128,241 in FY2023, so contributions received — which ranged from $325,500 (FY2011) to $1,209,897 (FY2022) — are the primary fuel keeping annual spending near $1.1M despite the shrinking asset base. Officer compensation held flat at $204,800/year from FY2019 through FY2023 before the FY2025 filing added the new editor line.
The database returned no peer-foundation set for this record, and this foundation's own opacity (a private operating foundation with no public grants program) limited what comparable, verified financial profiles could be assembled during research. The one frequently-confused "peer" — the Texas charity operating under the identical public name — surfaced no disclosed asset or revenue figures in the sources checked, so its column is marked accordingly rather than estimated.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Anchor Foundation Inc. (EIN 13-2706215, this record) | $5.2M (FY2025) | $1.30M (FY2025), but $0 paid as external grants | Self-operated program, likely publishing/editorial (Pathfinder Press-linked directors) | No public application — none found |
| Bergman Foundation I d/b/a The Anchor Foundation (EIN 83-0589515, Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX) | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Not disclosed in sources reviewed | Non-custodial-parent/child divorce support, direct family services via faith-based referral partners | Direct inquiry via contact form/email, not a competitive grant cycle |
The two organizations share only a public-facing name, not a legal identity, mission, geography, or funding model — a grant seeker's next step should be confirming which EIN they actually mean before drawing any comparison further. Neither operates a conventional open grants program for outside nonprofits: EIN 13-2706215 spends internally and has paid $0 to external grantees for over a decade, while EIN 83-0589515 runs a referral-based direct-service model for individual families rather than a nonprofit grants program.
The most concrete recent data point is the FY2025 Form 990-PF (filed 2026-05-14, per ProPublica), which shows revenue of $892,690 against expenses of $1,304,910 — a $412,220 shortfall — pulling net assets down to $5,219,082 from $5,631,302 the prior year. That continues a multi-year pattern: FY2024 also ran a deficit ($934,642 revenue vs. $1,212,200 expenses, net assets $5,631,302), and assets have fallen in nine of the last eleven reported fiscal years.
Leadership has been stable and long-tenured: Norton Sandler (President/Director), Stephen Clark (Secretary-Treasurer/Director), and David Prince (Director) all serve uncompensated across every filing reviewed, while Jack Barnes and Mary Alice Waters have drawn compensation in the $102,400-$125,000/year range as directors in recent years. The one identifiable change is a new compensated 'Editor' role (John Paul Davies, $59,800) appearing in the FY2025 filing — the first new officer/staff line item in the data reviewed.
No independent news coverage, press release, or program announcement specific to this EIN was found for 2025-2026; this organization does not maintain its own public website, and the domain most search engines and directories surface for "The Anchor Foundation" (theanchorfoundation.org) belongs to the unrelated Texas entity discussed above. In the absence of any grants program, there is no 'notable recent grant' to report — the only notable recent activity is the widening deficit and the new editorial compensation line.
The most important tip is a verification step, not a writing tip: confirm which "Anchor Foundation" you mean before investing any time. If your search led you to theanchorfoundation.org, its mission language about non-custodial parents, or its Dallas-Ft. Worth focus, you are looking at Bergman Foundation I d/b/a The Anchor Foundation (EIN 83-0589515) — a distinct Texas charity that runs a referral-based direct-service model (partnering with faith-based organizations to identify and serve individual families) rather than a competitive nonprofit grants program. Reach that organization at info@theanchorfoundation.org or through its website contact form, and note it prioritizes direct partnerships with vetted faith-based referral organizations over cold applications from unaffiliated nonprofits.
If you specifically mean EIN 13-2706215 (305 Seventh Avenue, 18th Floor, New York, NY 10001, phone 212-255-1767), the honest assessment is that this is not a viable target for an unsolicited funding request. No published guidelines, application form, LOI process, or grants staff were found in IRS filings, directory profiles (Candid, GuideStar, Cause IQ, Instrumentl, ProPublica), or general web search. More importantly, the foundation has reported $0 in grants paid to outside organizations in every fiscal year available (2011-2023 in the underlying dataset, and FY2024-FY2025 per ProPublica) despite disbursing $1.0M-$1.3M annually — strong evidence that funds are spent on the foundation's own program (plausibly publishing/editorial work, given the directors' long public association with Pathfinder Press and the new FY2025 Editor compensation line) rather than distributed as grants.
Common mistakes to avoid: don't assume the `accepting_applications: true` flag or the mission text tied to this record reflects reality for EIN 13-2706215 — cross-check any foundation database's mission/website field against the IRS filing address and officer names before drafting an LOI, especially for organizations with generic, widely-reused names like "Anchor Foundation." If you do want to test the waters despite the above, the only actionable channel is the phone number on file (212-255-1767) — but calibrate expectations to near-zero given the 14-year record of no external grants.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
No program descriptions are available for this foundation. Many private foundations report program activities in their annual 990-PF filings — check the Tax Filings section below for the most recent filing.
The reported financial pattern is unusual and worth stating plainly: across every fiscal year in the dataset (2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023) plus FY2024-FY2025 per ProPublica, `grants_paid` to outside organizations is $0. There is no median grant size, no grant range, and no program-area or geographic breakdown to report for external funding, because none has been disbursed in the 14+ years of filings reviewed. Any grantee list, program-area split, or geographic focu.
A critical identification issue governs any strategy here. The IRS record for EIN 13-2706215, "The Anchor Foundation Inc.," is a New York private foundation (subsection 03, foundation code 03, ruled exempt January 1972) whose registered address is 305 Seventh Avenue, 18th Floor, New York, NY. Its directors and officers — Jack Barnes and Mary Alice Waters (each drawing roughly $102,400-$125,000/year in recent filings), Norton Sandler (President/Director, uncompensated), Stephen Clark (Secretary-T.
The Anchor Foundation Inc. is headquartered in NEW YORK, NY. The foundation primarily funds organizations in Dallas-Fort Worth area, Texas.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jack Barnes | DIRECTOR | $102K | $0 | $102K |
| Mary Alice Waters | DIRECTOR | $102K | $0 | $102K |
| Norton Sandler | PRESIDENT/DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| David Prince | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Stephen Clark | SECRETARY TREASURER/DIRECT | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
$1.1M
Total Assets
$6.1M
Fair Market Value
$6.1M
Net Worth
$5.9M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
$1.1M
Net Investment Income
$128K
Distribution Amount
N/A
No individual grant records are available. Visit the foundation's 990-PF filings below for detailed grantee information.