Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. is a private corporation based in COLUMBUS, GA. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 1998. The principal officer is George C Woodruff Jr. It holds total assets of $3.5M. Annual income is reported at $958K. The foundation is governed by 5 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2016 to 2023. The foundation primarily funds organizations in Metro Atlanta and Georgia. According to available records, Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. has made 31 grants totaling $587K, with a median grant of $10K. The foundation has distributed between $287K and $300K annually from 2022 to 2023. Individual grants have ranged from $1K to $75K, with an average award of $19K. The foundation has supported 21 unique organizations. The foundation primarily supports organizations in Georgia, California, Colorado, which account for 90% of all grants. Grantmaking reaches organizations across 6 states. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. is a small, closed-circle family foundation governed entirely by uncompensated directors — George C. Woodruff III, Julie Woodruff, Charles Ray Sheffield, Phillip Bowden, Laurie Waldrop, and Patty Kilgore — filing from a Columbus, GA address (1639 Bradley Park Dr) with no professional program staff. Both the database's 'preselected_only' flag and independent grants-database summaries agree: this is not, in practice, an open-application funder, even though third-party listings sometimes attach an application process to it. That attached process — a Blackbaud YourCause portal, February 1/August 15 deadlines, letters addressed to 'Erik S. Johnson, President of the Woodruff, Whitehead and Evans Foundations' — was verified by this report to belong to the separate, unrelated, multi-billion-dollar Robert W. Woodruff Foundation of Atlanta, whose domain (woodruff.org) and inbox (fdns@woodruff.org) are frequently and understandably confused with this much smaller filer. Grant seekers should treat that portal as a different funder entirely, not a back door into this foundation. In practice, Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. behaves like a personal philanthropy vehicle for its director family and their Columbus, GA community circle: 23 of the last 31 tracked grants (74%) went to Georgia organizations, most of them well-known Columbus institutions (Columbus State University, the Columbus Museum, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Chattahoochee Valley, Mercer Medical School Fund). Several top recipients appear twice in the sampled period, indicating the foundation renews existing relationships more often than it adds new ones. First-time applicants should not expect a portal, a published RFP, or a fast response; the realistic path is a mailed letter of introduction to the registered contact ('% George C. Woodruff Jr,' 1639 Bradley Park Dr PMB 284 500, Columbus, GA 31904) paired with genuine relationship-building through Columbus institutions the foundation already funds — board overlaps, shared events, or introductions through existing grantees are more likely to matter than proposal polish. Because the foundation discloses its full grantee list annually via Form 990, the single best low-cost move for a prospective applicant is to monitor each year's filing on ProPublica for new names, which is the clearest public signal that the preselected circle has actually opened.
Across the ten filed years in the dataset (FY2011-FY2023), total giving rose from $219,855 to $344,749 — a 57% increase — while total assets fell from $4,401,748 to $3,645,167, a 17% decline. That combination pushed the effective payout rate from about 5.0% of assets in 2011 to roughly 9.5% in FY2023, well above the 5% federal minimum distribution requirement, meaning the foundation is spending down corpus faster than investment income alone would allow. Grants paid (distinct from total giving, which includes minor administrative costs) climbed from $194,750 to $299,999 over the same span, with year-over-year growth every year sampled except a dip around FY2019-2020. From the 31-grant sample used for this report ($586,649 total, $18,924 average), the largest recipients were Columbus State University ($140,500 across 2 grants), Mercer Medical School Fund ($100,000 across 2), Columbus Museum ($62,500 across 2), Boys & Girls Clubs of the Chattahoochee Valley ($56,125 across 2, including a named Russ Carreker Scholarship Fund gift), Mercy Med of Columbus ($44,812 across 2), and High Fives Foundation ($40,000 across 2). The smallest tracked gifts were $1,000 apiece to Abel Ministries, Epiphany Space, and Focus Ministries. A separate database-derived statistic (13-grant sample) puts the typical grant at a minimum of $2,500, a maximum of $95,250, a median of $10,000, and an average of $19,809 — consistent with the broader list. Virtually every sampled grant carries the purpose tag 'GENERAL OPERATING,' with only two named/endowed exceptions (the Russ Carreker Scholarship Fund and the Mulford Waldrop Security Fund at Brookstone School, the latter likely tied to director Laurie Waldrop's family name) — a strong signal this funder prioritizes flexible, core-mission support over restricted project grants. Geographically, giving is 74% Georgia (23 of 31 grants), chiefly Columbus-area institutions, with a thin scatter of out-of-state gifts (California 3, Colorado 2, Alabama 1, South Carolina 1, Tennessee 1) that read as personal-connection outliers — the Colorado-based High Fives Foundation (ski/snowboard-injury recovery) is a notable example — rather than a deliberate multi-state program.
The five closest database peers were matched almost entirely on asset size rather than mission, and none maintain a discoverable public website — a useful baseline for how opaque foundations at this asset tier typically are.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. (this) | $3.65M | $344,749 (FY2023) | Education, health, community development, youth — Columbus, GA | Preselected only (no public portal for this entity) |
| Friedman-Kline Family Foundation (TX) | $3.46M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Unknown — no public site |
| Rugaber Family Fund (VA) | $3.46M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Unknown — no public site |
| Jodar Family Foundation (MT) | $3.46M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Unknown — no public site |
| Kenneth P and Sally Rich Burbidge Foundation (UT) | $3.46M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Unknown — no public site |
| Irwin S Scherzer Foundation Inc. (NY) | $3.46M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Unknown — no public site |
All five peers cluster within about $300,000 of Woodruff's asset base and share its generic 'Philanthropy & Grantmaking' NTEE classification, but none publish a website, a mission statement, or a visible grantee list — meaning Woodruff is comparatively more transparent purely by virtue of its Form 990 grantee disclosures, even though its actual application posture (preselected-only) is functionally identical to the peer group's presumed closed-door model. At a 9.5% FY2023 payout rate against $3.65M in assets, Woodruff is also drawing down corpus faster than a static 5%-minimum peer would, suggesting more deliberate near-term community investment than an endowment-preservation strategy.
A targeted search found no 2025-2026 news coverage specific to 'Woodruff Family Foundation Inc.' of Columbus, GA. That name overlaps with at least three unrelated organizations that do generate regular press and could easily be mistaken for this filer: the Robert W. Woodruff Foundation of Atlanta (which owns woodruff.org, made a record $4 million grant to Park Pride for its 2025-2026 cycle — up from $3.4 million in 2023-2024 — and runs the Blackbaud YourCause portal with February 1/August 15 deadlines); the Bob Woodruff Foundation, a national veterans'-services charity that announced $6,516,836 in spring 2026 grants to 38 programs (including 9 new recipients) and partnered with the NFL and Little Caesars around Super Bowl LX; and a Cleveland-based 'Woodruff Foundation' with its own 2025 grants page. None of these is the EIN 58-2275952 filer covered in this report. In the absence of dedicated news coverage, the most current available signal is the FY2023 Form 990 — the most recent filing reflected in the underlying data — which shows total giving of $344,749, up about 4.7% from FY2022's $348,921 in total giving and $286,650 in grants paid (grants paid actually rose year-over-year even as total giving was roughly flat), continuing an unbroken decade-long climb in overall distributions. Board composition has been stable across every filed year sampled, with George C. Woodruff III, Julie Woodruff, Charles Ray Sheffield, Phillip Bowden, and Laurie Waldrop appearing consistently and Patty Kilgore joining in more recent filings — no turnover, no newly announced program area, and no public statement of a shifting mission were found.
The single most important tip is jurisdictional: verify you are contacting the right foundation before investing any time. This report confirmed by direct site visit that woodruff.org — including its FAQ, its 'How to Apply' page, its Blackbaud YourCause portal, and its fdns@woodruff.org contact address — belongs to the separate, much larger Robert W. Woodruff Foundation of Atlanta, not to Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. (EIN 58-2275952) of Columbus, GA. Applying through that portal will not reach this foundation's directors. Because independent grants-database summaries describe this filer as funding only preselected organizations, the realistic strategy is relationship-first, not portal-first: identify whether your organization already has a connection — a board member, donor, volunteer, or program partner — in common with Columbus State University, the Columbus Museum, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Chattahoochee Valley, Mercy Medical Center, or Mercer Medical School Fund, all repeat recipients in the sampled data, or with the W.C. Bradley Co. corporate community (the foundation's mailing address sits inside that company's office park). If no warm connection exists, the only documented contact channel specific to this entity is a mailed letter of introduction to '% George C. Woodruff Jr,' 1639 Bradley Park Dr PMB 284 500, Columbus, GA 31904 — keep it brief, describe your mission and Georgia/Columbus presence, and ask directly whether the foundation is open to unsolicited inquiries this cycle, since the honest answer may well be no. Request general operating support rather than a restricted project: virtually every sampled grant carried the purpose tag 'GENERAL OPERATING,' and the two exceptions were named funds tied to specific family relationships (the Russ Carreker Scholarship Fund and the Mulford Waldrop Security Fund), not open project competitions. Keep the ask realistic — sampled grants ranged from $1,000 to $140,500, with a $10,000-$20,000 median and average, so a first ask well above $50,000 from an unknown organization is unlikely to match typical practice. Common mistakes to avoid: assuming the $500,000-annual-budget eligibility threshold and application checklist attached to this record in third-party aggregators actually apply here (that checklist was traced to the unrelated Atlanta foundation and should not be treated as verified for this filer); emailing fdns@woodruff.org expecting a reply from this foundation's directors; and treating a single unanswered letter as final — renewed, multi-year relationships are the dominant pattern in the grantee data, so cultivation over 2-3 years is more consistent with how this funder actually operates than a one-shot application.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Smallest Grant
$3K
Median Grant
$10K
Average Grant
$20K
Largest Grant
$95K
Based on 13 grants from the most recent 990-PF filing.
No program descriptions are available for this foundation. Many private foundations report program activities in their annual 990-PF filings — check the Tax Filings section below for the most recent filing.
Across the ten filed years in the dataset (FY2011-FY2023), total giving rose from $219,855 to $344,749 — a 57% increase — while total assets fell from $4,401,748 to $3,645,167, a 17% decline. That combination pushed the effective payout rate from about 5.0% of assets in 2011 to roughly 9.5% in FY2023, well above the 5% federal minimum distribution requirement, meaning the foundation is spending down corpus faster than investment income alone would allow. Grants paid (distinct from total giving, .
Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. has distributed a total of $587K across 31 grants. The median grant size is $10K, with an average of $19K. Individual grants have ranged from $1K to $75K.
Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. is a small, closed-circle family foundation governed entirely by uncompensated directors — George C. Woodruff III, Julie Woodruff, Charles Ray Sheffield, Phillip Bowden, Laurie Waldrop, and Patty Kilgore — filing from a Columbus, GA address (1639 Bradley Park Dr) with no professional program staff. Both the database's 'preselected_only' flag and independent grants-database summaries agree: this is not, in practice, an open-application funder, even though third-par.
Woodruff Family Foundation Inc. is headquartered in COLUMBUS, GA. While based in GA, the foundation distributes grants to organizations across 6 states.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| George C Woodruff Iii | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Charles Ray Sheffield | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Julie Woodruff | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Laurie Waldrop | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Phillip Bowden | DIRECTOR | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
$345K
Total Assets
$3.6M
Fair Market Value
$5.5M
Net Worth
$3.6M
Grants Paid
$300K
Contributions
N/A
Net Investment Income
$148K
Distribution Amount
$256K
Total: $660K
Total Grants
31
Total Giving
$587K
Average Grant
$19K
Median Grant
$10K
Unique Recipients
21
Most Common Grant
$10K
of 2023 grantees were first-time recipients
| Recipient | Location | Amount | Year |
|---|---|---|---|
| United WayGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $5K | 2023 |
| Columbus State UniversityGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $65K | 2023 |
| Mercer Medical School FundGENERAL OPERATING | Macon, GA | $50K | 2023 |
| Boys & Girls Clubs Of The Chattahoochee ValleyRUSS CARREKER SCHOLARSHIP FUND | Columbus, GA | $46K | 2023 |
| Mercy Med Of ColumbusGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $22K | 2023 |
| High Fives FoundationGENERAL OPERATING | Truckee, CA | $20K | 2023 |
| Teen ChallengeGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $17K | 2023 |
| Columbus MuseumGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $13K | 2023 |
| Brookstone SchoolMULFORD WALDROP SECURITY FUND | Columbus, GA | $10K | 2023 |
| Columbus Botanical GardenGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $10K | 2023 |
| Wild At HeartGENERAL OPERATING | Colorado Springs, CO | $10K | 2023 |
| Micah'S PromiseGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $10K | 2023 |
| St Jude Children'S Research HospitalGENERAL OPERATING | Memphis, TN | $7K | 2023 |
| Animal Ark RescueGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $5K | 2023 |
| Community Foundation Of The LowcountryGENERAL OPERATING | Hilton Head Island, SC | $5K | 2023 |
| Southland Academy FoundationGENERAL OPERATING | Americus, GA | $5K | 2023 |
| University Of Georgia FoundationGENERAL OPERATING | Athens, GA | $20K | 2022 |
| Uptown ColumbusGENERAL OPERATING | Columbus, GA | $10K | 2022 |
| Abel MinistriesGENERAL OPERATING | Salem, AL | $1K | 2022 |
| Focus MinistriesGENERAL OPERATING | Hamilton, GA | $1K | 2022 |
| Epiphany SpaceGENERAL OPERATING | Hollywood, CA | $1K | 2022 |
ATLANTA, GA
ATLANTA, GA
ATLANTA, GA