NIH Director's New Innovator Award (RFA-RM-28-002): 30 Awards, $22.7M, Due August 19, 2027
September 11, 2026 · 7 min read
Granted Research Team · Editorial policy
Early-stage investigators at U.S. and foreign research institutions now have a firm target for the FY2028 High-Risk, High-Reward cycle: NIH forecast RFA-RM-28-002, the Director's New Innovator Award, on grants.gov on September 3, 2026, with 30 awards worth $22.7 million and applications due August 19, 2027.
That is roughly eleven and a half months of lead time — the longest advance notice NIH has given on this mechanism in recent cycles, and the single most useful fact in the announcement.
The record that posted on September 3
The grants.gov forecast for opportunity 363799 carries opportunity number RFA-RM-28-002, titled "NIH Director's New Innovator Award (DP2 Clinical Trial Optional)," from the National Institutes of Health under Assistance Listing 93.310 (Trans-NIH Research Support). It was created at 2:09 p.m. ET on September 3, 2026 and carries fiscal year 2028.
One distinction matters more than anything else on that page, and it is easy to miss: this is a forecast, not a posted solicitation. The status field reads FORECASTED. There is no application package attached, no assist-compatible submission path, and no way to submit anything today. The full announcement is estimated to post on March 15, 2027. Everything downstream of that — the August 19, 2027 due date, the August 30, 2028 award date, the September 30, 2028 project start — is an NIH estimate that can move.
It has moved before. The FY2027 cycle forecast an August 19, 2026 deadline; when RFA-RM-27-002 actually posted on June 26, 2026, the real due date was August 17, 2026 — two days earlier than forecast. Two days is not a catastrophe unless you have built a submission calendar that assumes otherwise. Treat August 19, 2027 as a ceiling, not a promise.
Thirty awards, $22.7 million, and a ceiling frozen at $475,000
The forecast lists an award ceiling and an award floor at the same number: $475,000. That is not sloppy data entry. New Innovator is a fixed-budget mechanism — every recipient gets $475,000 in direct costs per year for five years, which is $2,375,000 in total direct costs across the project period. There is no budget negotiation to win and no incentive to propose a cheaper project. Cost sharing is not required.
Against the immediately prior cycle, the numbers are close to flat:
| FY2027 (RM-27-002) | FY2028 (RM-28-002) | |
|---|---|---|
| Anticipated awards | 30 | 30 |
| Estimated total funding | $23,000,000 | $22,700,000 |
| Award ceiling/floor | $475,000/yr | $475,000/yr |
| Forecast posted | Dec 11, 2025 | Sep 3, 2026 |
Thirty awards, holding steady. Total funding down $300,000, or about 1.3% — noise, not a signal of retrenchment. The line worth staring at is the ceiling, which has sat at $475,000 across RFA-RM-25-002, RFA-RM-27-002, and now RFA-RM-28-002. A flat nominal ceiling across multiple cycles is a real-terms cut in purchasing power for anyone budgeting personnel and reagents against biomedical research inflation. Plan the five-year science accordingly; you are not getting the same lab-years in 2032 that $475,000 bought in 2025.
The $22.7 million figure also tells you something the ceiling does not. Thirty awards at $475,000 in direct costs is $14.25 million. The gap between that and $22.7 million is indirect cost recovery — roughly 59% on top of direct — which means the estimated funding line reflects year-one total costs, not the five-year direct commitment. Do not read $22.7 million as the program's total outlay. Over five years, this cohort represents north of $70 million in direct costs alone.
New Innovator holds 30 of the 53 seats on the FY2028 slate
The September 3 posting was not a single announcement. NIH forecast the entire High-Risk, High-Reward slate the same day, as a four-NOFO block:
| NOFO | Award | Anticipated awards | Est. funding | Ceiling | Due (est.) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RFA-RM-28-001 | Pioneer (DP1) | 7 | $8.2M | $700,000/yr | Sep 9, 2027 |
| RFA-RM-28-002 | New Innovator (DP2) | 30 | $22.7M | $475,000/yr | Aug 19, 2027 |
| RFA-RM-28-003 | Transformative Research (R01) | 6 | not stated | not stated | Sep 3, 2027 |
| RFA-RM-28-004 | Early Independence (DP5) | 10 | $5.7M | $350,000/yr | Sep 10, 2027 |
Fifty-three anticipated awards across the slate. New Innovator accounts for 30 of them — 57% of every seat NIH expects to fill through High-Risk, High-Reward in FY2028. If you are an early-stage investigator weighing which Director's award to chase, the arithmetic is not subtle: New Innovator offers more than four times the awards of Pioneer and three times Early Independence.
It also closes first. August 19 sits fifteen days ahead of the Transformative deadline and three weeks ahead of Pioneer and Early Independence. Anyone imagining they will draft a New Innovator application and pivot to Pioneer if the science firms up has the sequence backwards — the widest door shuts before the others open their final month. And DP1 and DP2 are not interchangeable in any case: Pioneer is open to investigators at any career stage, while New Innovator is restricted to early-stage investigators, which is precisely what makes it the more winnable target for the people it is aimed at.
What the ten-page essay has to do without preliminary data
The FY2027 announcement is the best available guide to what RFA-RM-28-002 will require, and its structure has been stable for years. Three features define the application.
First, preliminary data are not required. They may be included, but the announcement is explicit that their absence is not a deficiency. This is the mechanism's whole design premise — it exists to fund investigators whose best idea is one they have not yet been funded to test.
Second, the Research Strategy is capped at ten pages and written as a narrative essay, not in the Specific Aims / Approach scaffolding that shapes an R01. There is no Specific Aims page requirement. Applicants trained exclusively on R01 structure routinely submit an R01 compressed to ten pages, which reads as a small grant rather than a bold one, and reviewers notice.
Third, you may submit exactly one application as PD/PI. There is no hedging across the slate with variations on a theme.
Reviewers score five criteria — Significance, Investigator, Innovation, Approach, and Environment — and the announcement is clear that an application need not excel on all five. Approach, the criterion that sinks most R01s, is the one where a New Innovator application is explicitly permitted to be less certain. Innovation and Investigator carry the weight. The application is closer to an argument for the person and the idea than a defense of the experiments.
The ESI clock is the test most applicants fail before they write a word
Eligibility turns on Early Stage Investigator status: you completed your terminal research degree or your post-graduate clinical training — whichever is later — within the past ten years, and you have not previously competed successfully as PD/PI for a substantial NIH independent research award. For an August 2027 deadline, that generally means a degree or training completion date in 2017 or later, though the ten-year window can be extended for childbirth, family care responsibilities, clinical loan repayment obligations, disability, and natural disasters. Those extensions are underused; if any apply, file for them well before the NOFO posts.
The second half of the clause is where people get caught. A funded R01 ends ESI status. A pending R01 does not — you may have applications in flight, provided there is no scientific overlap with the New Innovator proposal.
One eligibility detail worth flagging for the segment that usually gets excluded: the forecast lists non-domestic entities, including foreign institutions, among eligible applicants. That is a meaningful contrast with the mentored career development mechanisms, where the constraints on what an early-career investigator may propose have been tightening — as we covered in NIH's clinical trial ban on K awards, which left 573 active K23 recipients on the wrong side of a rule change. DP2 runs the other direction. Clinical Trial Optional means an independent clinical trial is on the table for an investigator who has never held an independent award.
Eleven months is the entire advantage
If you missed the FY2027 deadline on August 17, 2026 — three weeks ago — this is the next door, and you now have what almost no applicant to that cycle had: nearly a year of warning. Our breakdown of the FY2027 New Innovator cycle covers the mechanics of the essay in more depth, and every one of them still applies.
The work that actually distinguishes a funded DP2 does not happen in the eight weeks before a deadline. It is confirming your ESI window and filing extension requests now, not in June. It is emailing NewInnovatorAwards@mail.nih.gov with an eligibility question while program staff have time to answer. It is deciding, before March 15, 2027, which of your ideas is genuinely too speculative to survive an R01 study section — because that is the one this mechanism was built for, and a safe project dressed up in bold language is the most common way a New Innovator application dies.
Next step: Search active NIH early-stage investigator opportunities on Granted to see what is open between now and the March 2027 posting — most ESIs building toward a DP2 should have a parallel R01 or K application in flight, and pending applications do not cost you eligibility.