Work at this foundation?
Claim this profile to edit this page and see interest from grant seekers.
Norfolk Foundation Inc. is a private corporation based in NORFOLK, CT. The foundation received its IRS ruling in 2018. It holds total assets of $6.5M. Annual income is reported at $1.1M. Total assets have grown from $1.8M in 2019 to $6.5M in 2024. The foundation is governed by 14 officers and trustees. Tax records are available from 2017 to 2024. Contributions to this foundation are tax-deductible.
Norfolk Foundation Inc. is not a conventional pass-through grantmaker seeking applicants — it is a private operating foundation that spends most of its budget running its own initiatives: the Norfolk Hub co-working space, the Haystack Book Festival (now in its fifth year, run with Yale Norfolk School of Art), and stewardship of three (soon four) downtown Norfolk, CT buildings. Grants to outside organizations are relationship-driven and, per third-party 990 aggregation, by invitation only — unsolicited proposals are not accepted. Grant recipients skew hyperlocal and small: Norfolk Community Association ($9,600) and Norfolk Historical Society ($4,000) in 2024, with one major exception — Yale University received $135,000, roughly 29% of that year's giving, almost certainly tied to the long-running Yale Norfolk arts partnership described in the foundation's own program filings. Executive Director Dawn Whalen ($82,750 FY2022 compensation) runs day-to-day operations; President Elizabeth Borden, Co-President Lisa Atkin, and a nine-plus-member volunteer board (recent officers include Treasurer Barbara Spiegel and Secretary Stephen Melville) set strategy. First-time contacts should recognize this as Norfolk's hyperlocal town-building vehicle, not a regional or national funder, and that applications in the traditional sense are not the entry point. Three practical access paths exist: (1) Norfolk Hub membership ($100-$425/year tiers) puts staff physically inside the building where the ED and board operate daily; (2) proposing a co-presented program — a Haystack panel, a Norfolk Earth Forum session, a Friday Nights on the Green collaboration — builds the in-kind relationship history that tends to precede any invited grant; (3) the active partnership with Foundation for Norfolk Living shows the foundation moves money toward organizations it already trusts within Norfolk's small civic ecosystem, so groups already embedded there are structurally favored. Organizations outside Norfolk (town population roughly 1,700) are very unlikely to be considered, despite the broad "Community Development" NTEE tag. This record's own accepting_applications flag conflicts with the invitation-only reality found in public sourcing — treat intake as effectively closed absent a warm relationship.
Total assets grew from $1,832,603 (FY2019) to $6,519,769 (FY2024), a 256% increase over five years, driven overwhelmingly by one banner year: FY2022 total revenue reached $3,240,719, including $3,016,414 in contributions received — consistent with a major capital gift around the time of the November 2021 purchase of 3 Station Place. FY2021 also saw an unusual $1,095,425 in net investment income against $1,289,240 total revenue. Total giving (a mix of self-run program spending and third-party grants) has held in a $232K-$492K band since 2019: $329,482 (FY2019), $232,327 (FY2020, a COVID-era dip), $314,032 (FY2021), $491,738 (FY2022), and $472,377 (FY2023); FY2024's total giving wasn't broken out in the available filing, though total revenue that year was $436,707. Within that giving, most dollars fund the foundation's own programs rather than third-party grants: the most recent 990 program breakdown shows $199,057 for the Norfolk Hub co-working operation and $48,090 for the Haystack Book Festival/Yale Norfolk arts partnership, plus additional unquantified expense tied to owning and maintaining three downtown buildings (2, 6, and 3 Station Place). Third-party grants are a small, invitation-only slice: per Impala Digital's 990 aggregation, 2024 grantmaking totaled roughly $465K-$472K across about five grants, led by $135,000 to Yale University (29% of the pool), $9,600 to Norfolk Community Association, and $4,000 to Norfolk Historical Society — $4,000 also cited as the median grant size. The effective range is $4,000 to $135,000, an extremely wide spread anchored by one legacy institutional partner rather than a typical grant-size band. Executive Director compensation held between $70,958 and $82,750 across 2021-2023, consistent with a small operating nonprofit staff rather than a large grant-processing shop — reinforcing that this is a place-based operating foundation, not a proposal-review grantmaker, and that most of its reported "giving" never reaches an outside applicant.
| Foundation | Assets | Annual Giving | Primary Focus | Application |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Norfolk Foundation Inc. (The Norfolk Hub) | $6.52M | ~$465K-$492K (mostly self-operated programs) | Community Development / place-based (NTEE T20) | Invitation only |
| Sokolski Family Foundation (PA) | $6.52M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Not disclosed |
| Concept2 Foundation (VT) | $6.52M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Not disclosed |
| Newtown Youth Academy Inc. (CT) | $6.52M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Not disclosed |
| Reddy Foundation (NJ) | $6.52M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Not disclosed |
| Lincoln Fund (NY) | $6.52M | Not disclosed | Philanthropy & Grantmaking | Not disclosed |
All five peers sit within roughly $6.515M-$6.521M in assets — this is an asset-matched cohort pulled from the platform's peer dataset, not a mission-matched one. The shared NTEE tag (T20, Philanthropy & Grantmaking) is broad enough to span family foundations, a donor fund (Lincoln Fund), and a youth-athletics nonprofit (Newtown Youth Academy Inc.), so it should not be read as a set of comparable operating foundations, and no financial or application detail was available in this dataset for any of the five peers to compare directly. What distinguishes Norfolk Foundation Inc. from a typical $6.5M community or family foundation of similar size is that the large majority of its budget funds its own direct operations — a co-working hub, a literary festival, and three-going-on-four owned buildings — rather than being redistributed as competitive grants, a structure closer to an operating nonprofit with an endowment than a classic grantmaking foundation. Grant seekers should not read the ~$465K-$492K annual giving figure as an open pool of grant dollars; the small externally-granted remainder (about five grants a year) is relationship-gated and invitation-only.
The most notable recent development is identity, not programming: Norfolk Foundation Inc. has publicly rebranded as "The Norfolk Hub" (per the Lakeville Journal headline "Norfolk nonprofit launches fresh start with new name" and norfolkhub.org's own copy, "The Norfolk Hub (formerly The Norfolk Foundation)"). The IRS/990 legal name persists for tax filings, but current communications, events, and contact channels run through norfolkhub.org — grant seekers should search "Norfolk Hub," not "Norfolk Foundation," for up-to-date activity. In January 2026, the organization welcomed four new board members: Tony Kiser, Grant Mudge, June Peterson, and Mary Talbot, refreshing governance capacity. On the real estate side, the foundation acquired the Royal Arcanum building — home to the Norfolk Pub — to preserve it, and is renovating five second-floor apartments into affordable housing; a pending sale of that second floor to American Folk & Heritage LLC would direct proceeds to partner Foundation for Norfolk Living's housing mission, extending a pattern of the foundation using real estate and adjacent-nonprofit partnerships rather than direct grants to pursue community goals. Programmatically, Friday Nights on the Green resumes for its 2026 season on May 29, and the Haystack Book Festival — now with its own dedicated site, haystackbookfestival.org — continues as the foundation's flagship cultural program in partnership with the Yale Norfolk School of Art. Norfolk Earth Forum and City Meadow habitat-restoration programming round out an active 2026 calendar. No leadership departures, litigation, or negative coverage surfaced in the sources reviewed.
The foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals; per third-party 990 aggregation (Impala Digital), funding is "by invitation only." Do not cold-submit a generic LOI — no application portal is published, and this record's own application_instructions field is blank despite an accepting_applications flag, which likely reflects a stale template rather than an active open call. The single most concrete channel for a first relationship is Norfolk Hub membership: tiers run from $100/year (Community User) to $425/year (Hub Membership Plus), buying space access, meeting rooms, and — most importantly — routine physical proximity to the Executive Director and board, who run the co-working space and event calendar on-site. A second channel is program co-presentation: the foundation already partners on the Haystack Book Festival, Norfolk Earth Forum, City Meadow, and Friday Nights on the Green — a Norfolk-area nonprofit proposing a co-hosted session, table, or panel at one of these events is a far lower-friction ask than a cash grant request, and builds the track record that tends to precede an invited grant. Track the two entities correctly: "Norfolk Foundation Inc." is the legal/990 name; "The Norfolk Hub" is the current public brand and where news, events, and contact info actually live (norfolkhub.org, office@norfolkhub.org, (860) 542-7185, PO Box 333, Norfolk, CT 06058). Do not use norfolkfoundation.com — that domain now belongs to an unrelated UK charity (Norfolk Community Foundation, Norwich, England, registered charity 1110817) and has zero connection to this funder; using it will surface the wrong contact details and wrong funding priorities entirely. If a relationship develops into an invitation, expect the ask to skew hyperlocal (Norfolk, CT, town population roughly 1,700) and modest — the 2024 median grant was $4,000, with the $135,000 Yale University gift a clear outlier tied to a decades-long institutional partnership, not a template for a new applicant. Best timing: align outreach with the Hub's calendar-year membership cycle (enrollment concentrates in January) and with Haystack Book Festival planning, which typically firms up in the fall (confirm current dates at haystackbookfestival.org). The most common mistake is treating this as a portable regional or statewide funder because of its "Community Development" NTEE classification — it is not; its entire footprint is the town of Norfolk and its immediate civic partners, such as Foundation for Norfolk Living.
Create a free Granted account to download this report — includes application checklist, full financial data, and all grantees.
Already have an account? Sign in to download.
Activities to better coordinate the diverse energies of the town's burgeoning non-governmental organization community by providing a managed central co-working space: the establishment of the norfolk hub brings a greater shared awareness of the town's many volunteer organizations, is used for community work space/events/presentations, and offers work, meeting space and professional support to its member organizations.
Expenses: $199K
Activities to contribute to the vitality of norfolk's rich cultural heritage: annual literary festival, now in its fifth year, in support of establishing norfolk as a major center for arts and culture in the region, bringing to norfolk award winning authors and writers into conversation on a wide range of topics to celebrate ideas and discourse. Continuing partnership with yale norfolk school of art by supporting annual thematic lecture series.
Expenses: $48K
Contributing to a thriving downtown including the ownership and maintenance/improvement of three prominent buildings in the downtown area. 2 station place - as a collaborative co-working work space with additional space rented to a hair salon; 6 station place as a convenience market/deli; 3 station place (purchased in nov 2021) has both commercial and residential tenants (partnership with foundation for norfolk living as master tenant for the residential units). These activities are an important part of the organization's mission but are not deemed direct charitable activities.
Total assets grew from $1,832,603 (FY2019) to $6,519,769 (FY2024), a 256% increase over five years, driven overwhelmingly by one banner year: FY2022 total revenue reached $3,240,719, including $3,016,414 in contributions received — consistent with a major capital gift around the time of the November 2021 purchase of 3 Station Place. FY2021 also saw an unusual $1,095,425 in net investment income against $1,289,240 total revenue. Total giving (a mix of self-run program spending and third-party gra.
Norfolk Foundation Inc. is not a conventional pass-through grantmaker seeking applicants — it is a private operating foundation that spends most of its budget running its own initiatives: the Norfolk Hub co-working space, the Haystack Book Festival (now in its fifth year, run with Yale Norfolk School of Art), and stewardship of three (soon four) downtown Norfolk, CT buildings. Grants to outside organizations are relationship-driven and, per third-party 990 aggregation, by invitation only — unsol.
Norfolk Foundation Inc. is headquartered in NORFOLK, CT.
Get a weekly digest of new grants for organizations like yours
Get a free weekly digest of new grant opportunities as they're added to Granted. Unsubscribe anytime.
| Name | Title | Compensation | Benefits | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dawn Whalen | EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR | $83K | $0 | $83K |
| Eliza Little | SECRETARY | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Elizabeth Borden | PRESIDENT | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Lisa Atkin | CO-PRESIDENT | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Barbara Spiegel | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Heather Tirrell Adams | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Mark Burke | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Michael Selleck | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Jonathan Barbagallo | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| George Cronin | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Carol Goodstein | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Colleen Hellerman | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Tom Sansone | BOARD MEMBER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
| Vishal Grover | TREASURER | $0 | $0 | N/A |
Total Giving
N/A
Total Assets
$6.5M
Fair Market Value
N/A
Net Worth
$6.5M
Grants Paid
N/A
Contributions
N/A
Net Investment Income
N/A
Distribution Amount
N/A
No individual grant records are available. Visit the foundation's 990-PF filings below for detailed grantee information.